One step at a time – stone in the garden

These are my newish steps which I thought I would take a photo of in response to Gardening Gone Wild’s latest design workshop on stone in the garden.  My garden is very sloping and I cant afford to terrace it plus as the garden slopes up from the house I didnt want to look out of my window at lots of walls.  These steps are at the top of a steep flight of stairs.  Up until this year there was grass here – well earth with the odd bit of grass.  It was very slippery and I jarred my back on more than one occasion.  My Dad and I built these steps.  I am really chuffed with them as they only cost the price of 4 bags of gravel.  We used an old scaffolding board for the risers held in place with some angle iron that we had and then we did the edges with some stone that left my the previous owners.  I have planted along the edges with Geraniums and Dianthus and the plan is that they will drape gracefully over the edges!

I have also used gravel on one side of my wildlife pond to create a sort of dry river bed. This allows me access to the pond and the birds enjoy using it to access the water as well.  This isnt the best picture as the cherry blossom has started to fall and is everywhere.  In the bottom right hand corner you can just see part of my dry stone wall – to give it is grand title.  My garden slops more steeply at the back and so we have built a short dry stone wall across the width of the garden from which the garden slopes upwards.  As I live on the side of the Malvern Hills (hence the slopes) my soil is clay full of lumps of granite and these are what we have used to build the wall.

One of the benefits of the dry stone wall is that I am beginning to find all sorts of goodies self-seeding themselves – just like this fern

Last but not least the wall makes a lovely backdrop for this creeping Phlox

8 thoughts on “One step at a time – stone in the garden

  1. I think your work is most attractive! Good job by you and your father. Every view you showed is lovely, I even like the snap with the flower petals scattered everywhere, very pretty. It is difficult gardening on a slope. You seem to be handling it well.

  2. You have done a lot of interesting work with your rocks and stones! We don’t find them too easily, but if I look hard enough…! We live on the downside of a good slope, also. It’s a challenge, isn’t it? We also have plenty of clay soil! Nice post! Beautiful photos on your blog. :-)

  3. Thanks Barbee for visiting – the only trouble with the cherry blossom is that is goes in the pond and so I have to fish it out!

    Hi Shady Gardener – good to come across another ‘sloper’

  4. Sorry it’s taken me so long to get here, Helen. I really appreciate you participating in this month’s Garden Bloggers’ Design Workshop at Gardening Gone Wild and sharing the photos of the stone in your garden. The gravel seems to be a wonderful choice for your wildlife pond area. And how wonderful that you have ferns appearing on their own!
    -Nan

  5. Pingback: Gardening Gone Wild » Blog Archive » GBDW - Stone in the Garden Wrap-Up

  6. I love the stone with fern, a very nice garden study photo….and the gravel looks attractive. I want to try using it more so many plants appreciate gravewl to seed in.

    Gail

  7. Hi Nan = I enjoyed participating in the design workshop – looking forward to the next one.
    Hi Gail – thanks for the comment. I think gravel is excllent for self seeders.

  8. Wonderful – a dry river bed and dry stone wall – two of my favorite garden elements! Your steps look lovely now and will be even more attractive when the plantings spill over the edges.

    Cathy

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

