End of month view August 2009

2009_08280002

Another month is over and the weather has meant that I haven’t got any where near as much tidying up as I had planned to do done whilst I have been on annual leave plus with all the rain everything is growing so fast.

2009_08280012

The new border by the pond is really filling out now.  In another couple of days the annual Rudbeckias will start to flower.  They are late opening this year as I was tardy in planting them out.  The colour scheme hasnt worked out quite how I wanted so I will have to think about that over the winter.

2009_08280014

The border in front of the pond is looking much better this year than last and I am really pleased with the Lobelia and Dahlia.  I just need to work on the far end of the border which you can’t see!

2009_08280015

The nursery is really full now and I need to decide how to overwinter the plants.  Do I leave them in their pots on top of the soil; do I top up the bed with sand and push the pots into this or should I plant all the plants out?

2009_08280026

The greenhouse is dominated by tomato plants at the moment and you can just see my first red plum tomato.

Previous end of month views here: July, June, May, April, March

This month Gardening Gone Wild is doing a workshop on ‘Time in your Garden’ and includes looking at your garden over a period of time to see how plants develop.  As these End of View posts have been recording how the borders develop over the past six months I think I will pop over and put a link on their post.

About Helen Johnstone

I live in Malvern, Worcestershire and am a very keen gardener. I started the Patient Gardener Blog in January 2008 as a way of recording what was happening in my garden and connecting with other like-minded people. I started a second blog PatientGardener 365 January 2013 in order to try and post a photo a day to capture what is growing in my garden or places I have visited
This entry was posted in End of month view and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to End of month view August 2009

  1. Joy says:

    Helen .. I love the discipline you have to stick to the reviews .. I think it helps tremendously with the development of not only our gardens .. but of ourselves as knowledgeable gardeners : )
    Job well done ! Keep it going girl : )
    Joy

  2. hayefield says:

    Thanks for leaving us the link, Helen, just in time to make the Design Workshop wrap-up post. Your end-of-the-month journal is a super idea.
    -Nan at Gardening Gone Wild

  3. This is a fantastic idea, this monthly review – and I have just the same problem as you with my nursery plants. I did think about putting them in the greenhouse but that would soften them up too much and not all of them are big enough for planting out – what to do?

  4. Lovely post Helen – Your lobelia is looking very good. I do think that your end of the month review is a good idea.

    Re Nursery plants:- I put a cheap plastic cloche over mine – I got them from Aldi last year, although possibly a bit unsightly, you could leave the pots where they are and just put straw around them, to protect the roots from the worst of the cold.
    K

  5. Pingback: GBDW Time in a Garden Wrap-Up

  6. gittan says:

    And a lovely view it is / gittan

  7. lovely view indeed. i love this cottage garden style look.

  8. Anna says:

    Interesting to see the difference from month to month. I think that I might do this next year if I remember :) I like the phormium in the new border by the pond. Which one is it Helen ? As for the nursery area I think that I would get the plants into the ground overwinter as soon as possible. If not how about having a pane of glass that you could lay over the top, so that you could have in effect a cold frame for when the weather is really severe ?

  9. Gail says:

    Helen, I was admiring your brick wall and the cascading plant when I noticed a really cool green house in the corner! That would be fun to have….(contain envy, gail). You’ve created a lovely garden~~the lobelia must be in heaven with all the rain! Helen an end of the month wrap up would make a good meme. gail

  10. Mary Delle says:

    I love your garden. We move with the changes– too much rain chez vous, no rain chez moi. It all demands a certain patient gardener.

  11. tina says:

    Your end of season garden looks so good! I really like that third picture down with the nice edging and pretty red flower and dark red dahlia in it. So neat! I am having the same questions as you with the started plants-plant or overwinter inside? Hard to decide because you never know how it will turn out. Have a great holdiay! That first building is most beautiful.

  12. Pingback: Invitation to participate in End of Month meme « The Patient Gardener’s Weblog

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

