One plant, two flower colours

Two very pretty ivy leaved pelargoniums you might think and indeed they are very pretty but it is in fact one plant – most bizarre and I really don’t understand it.  I have had a good check and it isn’t two plants in the same pot or anything like that. It could be that the whiter flower will fade to the darker colour but I am sure I would have noticed this before; although having decided to give up the plot I do feel as though my eyes are opened a fresh to the garden. There is one clear stem coming out of the pot splitting into two stems and one has a bright pink flower and one the whiter flower.

I really don’t understand how this happens.  Could it be that the plant being stressed may have caused it? Could the wet weather and lack of real heat/sun be a reason?

 

 

11 thoughts on “One plant, two flower colours

  1. What you have there is a “sport”. They can be caused by chemical, mechanical or temperature triggers. If it’s a stable sport then that stem will continue to produce a different coloured flower to the main plant. More often though, they are unstable and die out the next year.

  2. Yvonne – NZ – MMMM??? well nature is interesting! Glad you gave up your plot – ‘Life’s too short – (for trying to prove you are super human)?” I’m sure your sister would’ve preferred to ‘smel the roses’. Enjoy your gardenx

  3. Nature is so interesting isn’t it? I have an Orleada that is dong the same thing but I’m more inclined with mine to believe that it is two plants growing together. Your Pelagonium is certainly very pretty. Christina

  4. It’s either a sport, or your ivy leaf pelargonium is reverting, I.e. the dark pink was originally a sport of the pale pink. Without knowing the background of your original plant, it’s difficult to tell. Quite a lot of named pelargoniums are sports of other pelargoniums. If the plant is a sport it should have the name of the original plant somewhere in its name, I.e. Golden BIrd’s Egg, being a sport of Bird’s Egg. Or it should be described as a sport of the parent plant. I love the colours of both your ivy leaf pels.

  5. I had some petunias that were doing the same thing. However, the colour contrast was incredible. The variety was suppose to be a lovely dark veined blueberry purple, which grew random stems of solid scarlet red. A quirk of hybrid plants I guess?

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

