Gorgeous Blooms at The Garden House

Having shared with you some long shots of The Garden House which I visited last week I thought I would now show you some of the plants that  really took my eye.  The main ones were the hydrangea which was simply gorgeous as you can see in the previous post, but I suspect I am in a minority of liking hydrangea.

Anyway, the best flowers were in the walled garden and there were some lovely dahlias.  Sadly not all of them were named so I can only let you appreciate the loveliness of the flowers and we will forever remain ignorant of their names.  I haven’t had much luck with dahlias this year.  They got off to a bad start and only one has really done well and that is a species variety so quite dainty.  However I do like the large cactus dahlias when I see them in other gardens or on the display bench.

This one looks familiar and I wonder if at some time in the past I may have grown this variety.  I just love the vibrancy of the red and white and the whole over the topness of the flower.

One of the few asters still in flower and a wonderful shade of almost syrupy pink.  These are the sort of flowers I aspire to paint one day.

Colchicum Autumnale 'Blush Pink'

Colchicum Autumnale ‘Blush Pink’

Then moving on to the Front Lawn are you find some of my favourites.  When we visited earlier in the year there were lots of different Primulas in the border around the lawn.  They are now dormant and have handed the baton over to the Colchicums.  I have a large pot of Colchicums which I acquired recently with no label but having seen these dainty varieties I think I might investigate some other varieties.

Colchicum 'Violet Queen'

Colchicum ‘Violet Queen’

So as you can see The Garden House is a real plantsman’s garden and one I will visit again and again while I have the chance.

About Helen Johnstone

I live in Malvern, Worcestershire and am a very keen gardener. I started the Patient Gardener Blog in January 2008 as a way of recording what was happening in my garden and connecting with other like-minded people. I started a second blog PatientGardener 365 January 2013 in order to try and post a photo a day to capture what is growing in my garden or places I have visited
This entry was posted in Alpines, Bulbs, Perennials and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Gorgeous Blooms at The Garden House

  1. lindasgarden says:

    brill post Helen

  2. Christina says:

    In your photos I like Colchicums, but when I see them growing I feel they look naked, with no foliage, I feel rather the same about species Amaryllis belladonna. I love the strengh of colour of the Aster, most of them are only just beginning to flower here. Christina

  3. Alone in liking hydrangeas? How can you even begin to imagine that???
    Actually, here in Denmark hydrangeas have become a main-stay in florists, and consequently have made their way back into mainstream gardening years ago, much like the dahlias which were also at one point considered vulgar or showy or whatever. (I love them too, deeply!)

  4. Helen these blooms are indeed vibrant and so much more than mine…I think the color of foliage is dominating my garden now…but it is so nice to see these lovely blooms.

  5. Hi there Helen – thank you for introducing me to The Garden House – it’s on my list to visit in Devon next time we are there. What a wonderful pink that aster is – I have yet to grow asters, but that photograph is inspiring. Happy gardening, Ursula

  6. I also like that pink, I have a wild New England Aster that looks very similar, a bit of a surprise since they are usually purple. Jason

  7. Asters and dahlias are lovely autumn flowers. – http://mary-goingnative.blogspot.com/

  8. Holleygarden says:

    Gorgeous. I love looking at dahlias, but the colchicum is beautiful, and asters always make me smile. There is a lot more depth to them than at first glance.

  9. hillwards says:

    I really like hydrangeas too. A few years’ ago we drove to France with both sets of our parents for a week, staying near Dieppe, and visited the stunning hydrangea collection at Varengeville-sur-Mer nearby. They were breathtaking…
    Lovely blooms indeed, especially the white-tipped red dahlia (it looks a little like Friquolet?). Wonderful to have an excuse to regularly visit the same garden, and follow it through the seasons.

  10. Kathleen says:

    Beautiful dahlias (and photos) Helen. I love to look at all varieties of dahlias but only plant the collarettes in my garden because those are the ones I notice the bees prefer.
    It’s wonderful to see these gardens that I would probably never have the opportunity to otherwise. I like both views but am partial to the close-ups!!!
    Have a good weekend!

  11. Pingback: Gardening Reference Books Can Assist You To Plant Your Garden | emschiefs

  12. I am very fond of my inherited lace-cap hydrangea, and even the mopheads are growing on me! I really must plant some colchicums next year, such beautiful little flowers.

  13. Pingback: Gentiana Silken Skies | The Patient Gardener’s Weblog

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

