Gentiana Silken Skies

Anyone who follows this blog well will have noticed that I have discarded the allotment in favour of exploring the fascinating world of alpines – smaller, neater, no couch grass.

I have noticed over the last couple of months a number of small dainty pots finding their way  home with me from various talks, shows and gardens.  Being interested in alpines was particularly good when visiting The Garden House in Devon.  The reason we were in Devon was to take my youngest back to University so you can imagine how full my car was – no room for plants then?  Arh yes but there was room for a little gentiana, which just fitted in the sunglass whatsemacallit thingy between the front seats.

I potted it up and top dressed with horticultural grit in true alpine growing style and it is now flowering.

I really do like gentiana especially the intensity of the blue so much punch for something so small.

If the other alpines I have bought, or will be buying, deliver such a punch then I’m a convert.

 

About Helen Johnstone

I live in Malvern, Worcestershire and am a very keen gardener. I started the Patient Gardener Blog in January 2008 as a way of recording what was happening in my garden and connecting with other like-minded people. I started a second blog PatientGardener 365 January 2013 in order to try and post a photo a day to capture what is growing in my garden or places I have visited
This entry was posted in Alpines, Plants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Gentiana Silken Skies

  1. Nice sky blue on the Gentian. Next thing you will be building a table with sand to sink your alpine pots into, and then an extension on the greenhouse,,,.

  2. Cathy says:

    True blue flowers are far less common than other colours which is probably one of the reasons why these look so lovely. There was a swathe of gentians at St Andrews’ Botanical Gardens when we visited in August, although I don’t remember what variety they were. Good luck with your alpine journey!

  3. lindasgarden says:

    lovely post

  4. Mark and Gaz says:

    Nice blue colour on the Gentiana! Speaking of Alpine grit, I’ve only used it recently and like the way it feels and offsets plants nicely, great for mulching pots, big or small.

  5. Christina says:

    Hope you find the alpines give you what you’re searching for.

  6. I love gentians – my favorite are the bottle gentians that grow wild in some areas here.

  7. Jennifer Finney says:

    Gorgeous shade of blue – I have some alpines but think I’ll expand and I especially love this gentiana. Good luck Helen.

  8. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Gorgeous blue – I think too warm here in Auckland for them – boo hoo! Spring being sprig here – windy sw – cold and now turned to NE – windy cold! Well that is about 16 or 17 degrees but ‘feels’ cold!

  9. Annie_H says:

    A really true blue flower, how lovely! A good addition to what I’m sure will be a great collection of alpines, definitely easier to keep on top of the weeding compared to an allotment!

  10. djdfr says:

    I am partial to blue flowers. I remember seeing a member of this family in the Pyrénées but it was protected.

  11. a3acrefarm says:

    It’s always such a gift to see blue in the garden. Thank you!

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

