Wonderful Mushrooms

Look what I found lurking down the end of the garden.  Well it’s up the end of the garden really as my garden slopes up from the house.

I have had mushrooms in the garden before, in fact every year at this time there are mushrooms in the front lawn and I think they originate from the roots of the old conifer which weren’t taken out with the tree and are rotting under the lawn.  Whenever I dig in the front garden borders I come across bit of root with white stuff on it which I am assuming is the mycelium from which the mushrooms derive.

These mushrooms are growing under a rhododendron and bamboo in the Woodland Border in the back garden.  This is just below my compost bins and I have to admit that when I empty the bins any woody stuff that hasn’t rotted down gets thrown around the roots of the bamboo and other plants as a thick mulch.  I suspect the same thing is happening as in the front garden and there are various mycelium lurking amongst this woody mess and the result is these rather wonderful mushrooms.

I did contort myself under the rhododendron to take a photograph of this mushroom’s gills which looked great at the time but it is actually very out of focus and I don’t think my chiropractor would be very pleased to know I had been doing this after all her hard work yesterday.  We won’t mention the plant moving either!

I love gardening which is a form of controlling nature but I also get a real thrill when I come across something like these mushrooms unexpectedly.  I don’t think I am going to risk finding out if they are edible or not.  I wouldn’t know where to start with the identification and the way things have been going round here lately, I would probably get it wrong!  So I will just admire them hiding in the shrubs.

 

10 thoughts on “Wonderful Mushrooms

  1. There are lots of people on twitter who would probably have a go at identifying them for you. The top ones look like shaggy parasols from here. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shaggy_parasol but I would never presume to id a mushroom from a photo. I used to pick and eat the big version of this when I lived in London but they are very big and quite distinctive on account of their size http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macrolepiota_procera. Great fun to find them in the garden though! Lovely post :)

  2. Mother Nature is a skilled at parenting our soils. I too find it fascinating how different sizes and colors pop up in different places. I also don’t take a chance at eating something I don’t know enough about but do call the grandkids over so we can marvel at their beauty and intricacies.

  3. Recently my mushrooms have been all over…so many different ones that I was amazed at the variety that will be in apost once I can even identify any…love them and my chiro would not like what I had to do to get to a few either…but we appreciate your efforts Helen..they are so amazing

  4. It’s fun to find new mushrooms popping up in the garden. I like the unexpected pleasant surprise, too, instead of the usual suspects like the ten thousandth maple seedling. The only mushrooms I used to pick for eating were chanterelles when I lived on the west coast, because they are very distinctive.

  5. A case of magical mushrooms rather than magic mushrooms. We have fungii making an appearance here too most years but like you I err on the side of caution.

  6. I love the little mushroom surprises that spring up as the season grows moister–just a little glimpse into all the magic that’s happening in the soil, just out of view. (I noticed that I’m not the first to use the word “magic” in referring to mushrooms. What other ways can you describe them?)

  7. The warm wet soil seems ideal this year. I am feeling guilty after reading your post, I have just mown my lawn and also my mushrooms! When in the past I have cut down trees and shrubs I always go against conventional advice and leave the stumps in the ground. My reward is plenty of interesting fungi. Many years ago it was honey fungus but it was completely benign!

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

