The Autumn garden through a lens

I am absolutely shattered to the point where I keep falling over!!  I have spent the last week heavily involved in our graduation ceremonies (commencement in the US).  We have had 2500 students graduate in eight ceremonies over four days.  My job is to look after the University’s guests (VIPs) and ferry them back and forth between the University and Worcester Cathedral.  This equates to 400 people over the four days and sixteen coach journeys.   Every day has had different challenges: people in wheelchairs, a guide dog for a blind guest, non-English speaking guests, people turning up at the last-minute, lost robes, mislaid speeches, missing coaches, the threat of rain but we got through as we are an excellent team.  On top of this there were two dinners – one formal with people I don’t know and one relax and fun with the guys that robe all the students.  I have spent four days  and two evenings making small talk so not only is my body shattered from being on my feet all this time and walking miles but my brain has turned to mush!

I had a notion that I would  be gardening today but the body and brain are unwilling which is a pity as the sun is shining so instead I went for a walk around the garden to clear my head and to remind myself of the jobs that I need or want to do.  I found myself really looking at the detail.  I think in Autumn, as the plants decay, you start to notice more detail.  I found decaying leaves quite wonderful to observe just as I do water drops on plants.

As I was too tired to do any gardening I spent some time fiddling with the controls on my bridge camera trying to work out how to use the manual option.  I  failed and have a lovely collect of white photos.  I really want to try to work out how to use this function better but am yet to find any helpful book, web page or instructions.  I would love  an SLR but the budget doesn’t stretch that far at the moment.

However, I think some of the photographs I took this afternoon aren’t that bad considering its with a point and shoot camera.  I love  the detail of the fading hydrangea flower above, its like fine lace work.  The light was strange as well due to the scudding clouds which meant that one moment the sky was clear and bright blue and the next it was full of menacing grey clouds threatening rain

Having mooched around the garden taking photographs I didn’t want to go back in so I spent a happy half hour in the greenhouse tidying up the various plants I have put in there to over-winter.

Tomorrow I am hoping that I will feel more rested and have the energy to finish off the bulb planting.

About Helen Johnstone

I live in Malvern, Worcestershire and am a very keen gardener. I started the Patient Gardener Blog in January 2008 as a way of recording what was happening in my garden and connecting with other like-minded people. I started a second blog PatientGardener 365 January 2013 in order to try and post a photo a day to capture what is growing in my garden or places I have visited
This entry was posted in Life, Perennials, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Autumn garden through a lens

  1. Who’s no wonder you are tired. Small talk is exhausting at the best of time, all those people all that ferrying and all this smiles is enough to knock you out all weekend. Its good to potter with the camera and you have taken some lovely shots. Mooching is good 😄

  2. That was supposed to be whow not who’s 😄😄😄😄

  3. Cathy says:

    A job with lots of challenges, Helen, but hopefully some rewards – and it must be satisfying when it all comes together and people and things are where they should be at the right time. How many graduations are you involved in in total each year? Hope you can manage some more mooching tomorrow – it’s unfortunate that our need or desire to garden doesn’t always tie in with the available time or the suitability of the weather (and the willingness of our bodies is another indeterminate, of course!)

    • patientgardener says:

      Hi Cathy – these are all the graduations for this year. Dont start planning again now till May but this is on top of my normal fulltime job as an administrator

  4. I love what one can do with a point and shoot…and I thought I was busy…get some time for yourself Helen.

  5. Anna B says:

    Hi Helen! Your job sounds mad! No wonder you’re tired out and I think it’s good to acknowledge it like you have done and take some time out. I’m doing the very same thing by escaping to my parents this weekend for a rest! Your photos are amazing. What’s a Bridge camera?

    • patientgardener says:

      Hi Anna – a bridge camera is supposedly a bridge between a compost (point & click) and an SLR but I think it depends on the user’s ability!

  6. alison rayner says:

    After all that sheer hard work, it must have been wonderful to get back to the peace and quiet of your garden and just enjoy mooching and looking – and taking some lovely pictures. I especially like the sun catching the lime green leaves.

  7. Mark and Gaz says:

    HI Helen, sounds like you’ve had an exceptionally busy week indeed. Take it easy and slowly until you feel you have recovered from such a hectic week. Lovely selection of photos btw! This time of the year seems to be a good time to just simply go over the garden and notice details one doesn’t usually notice before. Hope the sunny weather continues tomorrow, cross fingers!

  8. Donna says:

    Small talk! eek! – run, run for the hills!

  9. Sometimes it’s especially relaxing to putter around the garden, daydreaming about garden plans and doing a few easy tasks that appeal to you. Have fun with the bulb planting when you feel more energetic.

  10. hillwards says:

    There are some lovely details in the garden at the minute, that aren’t so obvious when the flowers are rioting…

  11. Pingback: If I never see another Hypericum seed…. | The Patient Gardener’s Weblog

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

