Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections

2012_12020028

This week’s Weekly Photo Challenge is along the theme of reflections.

I was really pleased to see this theme as it made me go for a trip up the Malvern  Hills which are only a 5 minute drive from so that I could visit Earnslaw Pool.  It is a former quarry and very deep.  I love it as there is a wonderful atmosphere about the place.  You can only approach from one narrow end of the pool, the rest is surrounded by high walls from the former quarry.

This weekend due to the cold we have had the pool was frozen although the ice was beginning to melt.  I couldn’t get right to the pool but I took the above photo by the entrance.  I found the process fascinating since when I looked down into the water the reflections of the trees weren’t that clear instead my eyes were drawn through the clear water to the decaying leaves lying on the bottom of the pool.  It was only when I looked at the screen on my camera that I saw that the camera had seen the view differently and really picked up the colours of the sky and trees above.

I also liked the way that the trees growing up the steep side of the quarry seemed to be slightly distorted in the reflection they appear to be growing at different angles which is not the case.

Taking this photograph was an interesting lesson in how cameras work.

 

About Helen Johnstone

I live in Malvern, Worcestershire and am a very keen gardener. I started the Patient Gardener Blog in January 2008 as a way of recording what was happening in my garden and connecting with other like-minded people. I started a second blog PatientGardener 365 January 2013 in order to try and post a photo a day to capture what is growing in my garden or places I have visited
This entry was posted in Weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections

  1. Christina says:

    It is always interesting that the camera ‘sees’ a scene differently, the tree angles are very odd. Christina

  2. Mark and Gaz says:

    That’s a nice a photo! Reflection shots can be tricky to take and looks like you’re doing well with your new camera.

  3. endlessframe says:

    Nice shot! I love lake reflections, Its a really haunting and ghostly image!

  4. easygardener says:

    I like the way the brown of the leaves is echoed on the reflected trees. Interesting that you and the camera saw different things!

  5. Anna B says:

    This is a lovely shot! Did you use your bridge camera again?

  6. Anna says:

    Interesting shot. Just looking at it makes me feel that I’m going to fall in.

  7. Yvonne Ryan says:

    I also have ssooooooo many photos of beautiful reflections !!

  8. Nice picture. I admire gardens, like Giverny, that consciously utilize those reflections as part of their plan.

  9. Holleygarden says:

    That is a great picture, and I liked how you described what you saw vs. what the camera saw.

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

