Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures

I thought this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge was a clever way to review and capture the essence of my year.  Before I started putting the mosaic together I thought it might be quite dull but doing this has reminded me of all the wonderful things I have done and the wonderful memories I have particularly of time spent with my sons.

For more Weekly Photo Challenge posts visit the wordpress blog

About Helen Johnstone

I live in Malvern, Worcestershire and am a very keen gardener. I started the Patient Gardener Blog in January 2008 as a way of recording what was happening in my garden and connecting with other like-minded people. I started a second blog PatientGardener 365 January 2013 in order to try and post a photo a day to capture what is growing in my garden or places I have visited
This entry was posted in Weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures

  1. Anna says:

    What a good way to round up the year and remind yourself of the highlights Helen. I did a similar mosaic post first thing this year and will probably do so again in a couple of days :) A friend writes notes during the year about what has made her happy, puts them into a big jam jar and then reads through them at the end.

    • Cathy says:

      I like the jam jar idea! :)

    • patientgardener says:

      Hi Anna
      I know someone who when they think of something they would like for a birthday or Christmas gift they write it on a piece of paper and puts in a jam jar and then her family can help themselves to the ideas

  2. Anna B says:

    Really great photos Helen! Loving the veg : )

  3. Patty says:

    Great idea. I see you were in Barcelona too this year – must have missed the post. I am aiming for a bed of asters like the photo you shared, it would be an indulgence.

    • patientgardener says:

      Hi Patty
      We visited Barcelone in July – if you look in the July archive there are a couple of posts about our exploits

  4. Holleygarden says:

    Great photos! It would be hard to put a year into just 12 pictures, but you did a wonderful job.

    • patientgardener says:

      It was hard – there was some months when I was dithering around and had to leave out some fab places I visited.

  5. Cathy says:

    Hmm – that’s an interesting concept, although I am not sure if I could manage it – but that’s the challenge, isn’t it! You’ve done well with arranging the monatage too. Thanks to Patty for identifying Barcelona, as I wondered where it was, but I shall have to look at your older posts to see what the rally driving was all about!

  6. Charlie says:

    Love the photos. It always amazes me how each photo, realy good ones, are realy the bits and pieces of a broken mirror. As you change how you look into them you see a different part of the story.

  7. Lovely pictures, Helen. I especially like the red Daylilies and dahlias.

  8. Mark and Gaz says:

    We just started going through our photos of this year again and isn’t it wonderful to take the time to look at them again? Brought back lovely memories and a reminder how much can happen in just one year!

  9. Yvonne Ryan says:

    You were very busy in interesting places!!

  10. R. says:

    Great photos. The cabbage attracted my attention though—it’s perfect! I tried to grow them (for the first time) this year and just supplied a lot of food for the cabbage worms. How do you keep the pests away???

  11. What a great montage of an interesting and full 2012. It must have been a challenge to select just 12, well done. Wishing you a very happy New Year and lots of warmth and sunshine for 2013

  12. Alex says:

    Hi Helen, I am really pleased to have found your blog, especially as I’m in the Malvern area too.
    I have enjoyed reading your posts and looking at the lovely photos and I’m afraid I have pinched the idea for a round-up of the year in pictures (hope you don’t mind!) If you’d like to have a look, I’m here- http://www.florasposts.co.uk/
    Happy gardening in 2013, lets hope for a little less rain though!
    Alex

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: my 2012 in pictures « What's (in) the picture?

  14. Pingback: That was the year that was – 2013 | The Patient Gardener's Weblog

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

