End of month view: The year that was

I thought as it was December and the end of the year that I would do a post which showed the various areas I had featured over the last year in the End of Month posts.  Above is the Cottage Border (or the Top of the Wall Border).  I did miss taking a photo of it in November. I have to say that I was very surprised when I put the mosaic together at just how good it looked during the year.  I have been very critical of it, as I think I have of the whole garden and myself, but looking back it wasn’t that bad.  Whether the tulips will be as good next Spring given the rummaging the badger has done remains to be seen.

The patio border  has looked very lush during the year which resulted in me giving it a good clear out  in October much to the shock of some readers.  The bulbs are now beginning to push through the mulch and hopefully in the next month or so there will  be a good display.

Above is the slope which also goes under the name of the Daisy Border although it needs more daisies.  For some reason I didn’t take any photos before June.  I have some rejigging to do here- the Phlomis are relocating to the front garden and the Helianthus Lemon Queen is being thinned plus there are two more Asters waiting to go in.

In January 2013 I will start a new End of Month view this time of the front garden which I have started to work on.

You are very welcome to join in with this monthly meme.  You can use it any way you wish but it would be great if you could post  a link to your post in the comments box so we can all visit your garden.

About Helen Johnstone

I live in Malvern, Worcestershire and am a very keen gardener. I started the Patient Gardener Blog in January 2008 as a way of recording what was happening in my garden and connecting with other like-minded people. I started a second blog PatientGardener 365 January 2013 in order to try and post a photo a day to capture what is growing in my garden or places I have visited
This entry was posted in Cottage Garden Border, End of month view, The Patio/Spring Border, The Slope (incl Daisy Border) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to End of month view: The year that was

  1. What a great way to end the year Helen. Your garden always looks so interesting with its different borders. I’m looking forward to following the progress of your front garden. Happy gardening for 2013. This is my EOMV for December http://hurtledto60.com/2012/12/30/end-of-month-view-december-2012/

  2. Mark and Gaz says:

    I like the way you’ve done your end of year look back, you can conveniently see the changes and differences with each passing month. Wishing you a wonderful New Year ahead!

  3. Christina says:

    A very Happy Gardening New Year, Helen. I look forward to reading about your plans for the front garden next year. Christina Here’s my year’s view. http://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2012/12/30/2012-end-of-year-review/.

  4. Cathy says:

    Thanks for doing your EOMV like this, Helen – after only joining in towards the end of the year it was great to see the changes in the different borders all in one post. And perhaps more importantly it’s a good record for you too. I look forward to watching your front garden progress next year.

  5. alison rayner says:

    I just love the way you have captured the same views of different parts of the garden as they have moved through the seasons. I have kept a very detailed and photographic ‘journal’ of my garden through 2012 for my own enjoyment but have absolutely no idea how to start a blog. So I just enjoy reading your’s and several others.

  6. Happy New Year Helen…I’ll link in on the 7th…but my how wonderful the borders look…I have not done a good job of taking monthly pictures of the beds but will remedy it in the spring….I like it as a great pictorial journal to really see the beds in all seasons.

  7. What a lovely idea, 12 pictures of 12 months in 1 border, i will make a note on my new calender to take a photo of some of my more notable areas with-in the garden an join you from Jan 2013.

    I always like your blogs Helen, and enjoy reading them. I also look forward to your adventures with-in the AGS as I joined up not long afer you did.

    Reading your blogs gave me the confidence to start my own, its not very good as I waffle aimlessly and always have to battle with the settings on WP, and so far i’ve failed to find out how to link to your blog from mine…

    Anyhow, happy growing for 2013… here’s hoping for better weather.!
    xJx

  8. penelopesh says:

    Another lovely post Helen. Beautiful colourful borders. Look forward to reading your blog in 2013. Happy New Year.

  9. Claire says:

    This is a really good idea to do this. It is all to easy to stare out at the heap of dead perennials at this time of year, wring your hands and vow to dig the whole lot up and start again in spring when actually things might have been pretty good in summer but we have forgotten. All of your borders look very good at different times but I think the Daisy border is my favourite when the foxgloves are out. It’s a classic.

  10. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Great photos of lots of hard work. I am so glad I took thousands of photos of my garden in Mt ‘Eden at least I have them to look back on. Goodness knows when I can make another one – we have put a ‘hold’ on the house we were to move into in March – Jim so sick – although on steriods and they have kicked in and he is not so tired (not the chemo way – thank goodness as incurable) Not knowing where we will end up is very scary. Happy New Year!! xx

  11. Your garden looks great. I love the cottage garden and the slope. I am going to have to do the same with monthly pictures of the different beds through next year.

  12. Charlie says:

    I have a soft spot for the cottage garden so yes I love what you have done and really enjoyed seeing it as it changed over this past year. Thank you for sharing.

  13. Fascinating. I wish I could get kirengeshoma to grow as well as you; I love it. Perhaps now I have a damper garden, it may survive.

  14. Alison says:

    Love the pictures of the same bit month by month – very effective.

    My EoMR is here http://www.blackberrygarden.co.uk/2012/12/end-of-month-review-december-2012.html

  15. Dear Helen, What a wonderful retrospect! Your garden is lovely every month of the year. Wishing you all the best fro 2013! P. x

  16. Anna B says:

    Wonderful bunch of photos Helen! Very effective indeed. I did an allotment retrospective post recently http://digtheoutside.wordpress.com/2012/12/21/the-gardening-diaries-an-allotment-retrospective/ I know you’re not overly keen on growing veg though! I probably do have a month by month collection I could put together but will have to save that for a post next year as I have a busy few days now. Lovely of you to host this. Hope you have a very happy new year and best wishes for 2013 :)

  17. hillwards says:

    It’s lovely to look back over the year. I’ve also created composite pics from my first-day-of-the-month shots, in my year’s review at http://hillwards.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/2012-garden-review/ – I’d been looking forward to seeing them all together all year!
    Your garden looks splendid and full through much of the year, funny how our memories can exaggerate our perceptions… Look forward to watching your progress out the front (and the back). Wishing you all the best for the new year.

  18. Anna says:

    Those mosaics are a brilliant way of capturing both subtle and dramatic changes as the year has unfolded Helen. I am sitting out from the EOMV this month – for me it seems to have been a case of the year that wasn’t both in the garden and at the allotment but hopefully will be back in January. Look forward to reading about your front garden in the future.

  19. a nice finish to the year Helen, your garden is progressing nicely,

    thanks for hosting this meme, I look forward to joining in next year, my post

    http://islandthreads.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/end-of-month-view-december-2012/

    Happy New Year, Frances

  20. There is a lot gong on in your borders through the year. Your cottage garden at the top of the wall has a nice bulb display from the yellow daffodils through the pink tulips, so let’s hope that the badger bypassed the bulbs in its digging. I really like the Galanthus in your patio border. I’ve been trying to get a better display of them in my garden, but so far only a few scattered ones come up every year. I almost decided to give up on them, but I tried again with new bulbs this fall.

    Here’s to a wonderful gardening year in 2013.

  21. Cathy says:

    I have a lot to thank you for Helen, as it was a random Google search for a plant name that brought me to your site back in the summer, and encouraged me to become more adventurous with my blog. I have come such a long way since then, and much of that has been due to the support of fellow bloggers like yourself. I believe you have a huge following and this says a lot about you and your blog, so go gently on yourself and please don’t underestimate what you have achieved. Thank you again, and I wish you every happiness in 2013. My EOMV is posted at http://ramblinginthegarden.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/end-of-month-rambles-looking-back/

    • Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Cathy
      Gosh your comment took me by surprise and I felt very humble. I am so pleased that someway I have encouraged you with yout blog.
      Thanks for joining in and best wishes for 2013
      Helen

  22. b-a-g says:

    Hi Helen – Your garden looks great, I particularly like the foliage in the patio border. Hope the badger doesn’t get all your tulips, I remember your display from last spring.

    http://experiments-with-plants.blogspot.co.uk/2012/12/end-of-year-view-31-dec-2012.html

  23. Anna says:

    You’ve made some great progress, I hope 2013 is just as successful for you.

  24. dedbsgarden says:

    Your garden is beautiful throughout the year. I loved seeing the seasonal progression.

  25. Helen, a great idea and a great blog. I put the camera on charge when I read this yesterday and I have been out today taking photographs of the garden. The link to my garden is – http://bit.ly/VYHYs2
    Mahalo

  26. Your garden is lovely indeed and I’m so glad you can see it! Sometimes we are own worst enemies when it comes to our gardens and many other things as well. I think I am in love with the patio border with all of the pretty foliage. Many wishes for you to have a wonderful year this year and every year!

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

