Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond

2012_08010016

The theme for this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge is Beyond.  The idea is that the photo, whilst focusing on something in the foreground should make the viewer look to the background of the photograph.  I had a look through recent photographs and thought that these photographs taken at Wollerton Old Hall last summer demonstrated ‘beyond’ quite well although possibly not in the way the challenge intended.  I like the way the structure, path, hedges in this garden lead your eye, drawing you forward.

2012_08010021

2012_08010025

For more Weekly Photo Challenge posts visit The Daily Post – there were around 700 other posts listed when I just looked!

22 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond

  1. Good to see more pictures of Wollerton – I like that garden very much and definitely need a second visit but in a different season, as it was late summer when I went before. Certainly a good place for ‘beyond’ views.

    • Hi Cathy – this was my first visit to Wollerton in many years, in fact so long I dont remember the first visit very well. I think an early summer visit might be good this year

  2. Pingback: Photo Project: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 3, 'Beyond'] « 3rdculturechildren

    • Hi Christina
      I like that sort of design if it isnt squeezed in or too much. Wollerton has a lot of space around the topiary so it wasn’t oppressive which is the sensation I get at Hidcote

  3. understand u r not on twitter anymore, 2 queries if I may ask: I know u r thinking about Dahlias but do u grow Chrysanths? Hanenburg has 14 week display (as rec by Which?) & have u reviewed Graham Rice’s Powerhouse Plants by any chance? (Layered Garden read on your recommendation). really enjoy your blog, thks

    • Hi Anna
      I havent grown Chrysanths but am thinking of giving them a go this year, been told they are easy! I havent reviewed Graham Rice’s book either but if its a Timberpress book I might end up reviewing it one day

  4. I’ve never been to Wollerton, but it is definitly on my list of gardens to visit now. I love that topiary and how well it draws the eye.. well beyond! I’d love to introduce some of that formality into my garden, but it just doesn’t really lend itself to that style, it’s more of a naturalistic garden I guess. Your photos are lovely, really enjoying your blog, thanks.

    • Hi Alex
      I’m not madly keen on topiary and parterres but I really like this garden as the topiary etc isnt dominant and there are lots of lush planting around them

  5. Great set of photo’s and you’ve captured the theme really well. I’ve not been to Wollerton but it looks really nice. I also like the idea that you’ve used the theme to go out and about. I need to do that more with my camera.

    • Hi Sophie
      The photos were taken last summer – I always have my camera with me when I visit gardens as that is my passion. Wollerton is worth a visit especially late summer

  6. Pingback: 1-24-13 Weekly Photo Challenge Beyond #3 (Going Beyond) « The Quotidian Hudson

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond « Dibbler Dabbler

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

