Wordless Wednesday – 23/1/13 – CS Lewis’s lamp-post

2013_01220009

About Helen Johnstone

I live in Malvern, Worcestershire and am a very keen gardener. I started the Patient Gardener Blog in January 2008 as a way of recording what was happening in my garden and connecting with other like-minded people. I started a second blog PatientGardener 365 January 2013 in order to try and post a photo a day to capture what is growing in my garden or places I have visited
Image | This entry was posted in Photography, Winter, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Wordless Wednesday – 23/1/13 – CS Lewis’s lamp-post

  1. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Brrrr and to think it’s a hot day here!

  2. VP says:

    The lamp posts on our very modern estate are modelled on this one. How much better to have the real thing nearby, especially in this Narnia-ish weather :)

    • Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi VP
      It is a very copied style. I have to confess that this isnt the actual one CS Lewis based his own, that one is round the other side of Malvern.

  3. Mark and Gaz says:

    ‘Light’ on a dreary winter’s evening…

  4. Cathy says:

    Great atmospheric shot, Helen. The original is such an iconic image, isn’t it?

    • Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Cathy

      It is believed that the actual inspiration for CS Lewis’s gas lamp in the Lion, Witch and Wardrobe is one on the other side of Malvern to me. However, all the gas lamps in Malvern are from the same period and are of similar design. They are lovely and light my journey home at this time of year

    • Cathy says:

      Oh! That’s an interesting snippet, Helen, thank you

  5. easygardener says:

    Very attractive. It makes a change from the boring design we have around here.

  6. Alex says:

    I didn’t know that Malvern lamp posts were the original inspiration for the Narnia one! great picture Helen.

    • Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Alex
      I believe the actual one is near the back of St James Primary School in West Malvern. CS Lewis went to school in Malvern hence the association

  7. Anna says:

    A most atmospheric lamp post Helen but what are those cars doing in Narnia?

  8. Definitely something from the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe. Beautiful lamp post.

  9. debsgarden says:

    Ha, ha! I just bread Anna’s comment, which was also my thought, then I read your response! But the lamp is nevertheless lovely.

  10. wifemothergardener says:

    Thank you for sharing this one, Helen! My husband & I are huge fans of Lewis. Whenever we finally get the money to travel to the UK… in 5 years?… in amongst all of the garden touring, I have promised that we could stop in Oxford at the Eagle & Child to see where Lewis and Tolkien met to discuss their writing.

  11. How lovely! I had completely forgotten about C S Lewis’s connection with Malvern. Why can’t we all have nice lamp posts instead of those ghastly reinforced concrete monstrosities? I can see the point of them on motorways but not in residential areas.

  12. Charlie says:

    I love pictures that pull you in and share their history. Thank you for sharing…and of course I am a big C S Lewis fan.

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

