Wordless Wednesday 11/12/13 – Massonia pustulata

Massonia pustulata

Massonia pustulata

About Helen Johnstone

I live in Malvern, Worcestershire and am a very keen gardener. I started the Patient Gardener Blog in January 2008 as a way of recording what was happening in my garden and connecting with other like-minded people. I started a second blog PatientGardener 365 January 2013 in order to try and post a photo a day to capture what is growing in my garden or places I have visited
This entry was posted in December, garden, gardening, Succuluents, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wordless Wednesday 11/12/13 – Massonia pustulata

  1. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Wow this looks amazing – don’t think I know it. Have you a full photo of it? What conditions it likes etc – bulb? etc.

    • Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Yvonne
      It is a bulbous perennial and comes from South Africa. It is a short plant, really only two large leaves with the flower head.

  2. croftgarden says:

    Well done Massonias are not easy. did you grow it from seed?

  3. Adrian says:

    Lol that is great flower :O

  4. Cathy says:

    I wondered where the pustules came in – presumably the leaves, although they look quite attractive and ‘pustules’ conjures up the image of something a little unpleasant!

    • Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Cathy
      If you look at the leaves you will see small lumps which I am assuming is what the pustulata refers to. When I bought it from Bob Brown he made me run my hand over the leaf saying it as rather warty!

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

