My Garden This Weekend – 23rd February 2014

2014_02230042logo

There isn’t much to report from the garden this weekend mainly as I spent the only dry sunny day at my garden club and sadly Sunday was a blustery and damp day.  I have spent some time outside today, well enough to take these photographs which proved challenging due to the wind.  Looking around the garden there are increased signs of the change of seasons we are all waiting for.

2014_02230040logo

The first daffodils are flowering.  I don’t know what variety they are as they came with the house but these ones always flower a good few weeks before others.  There was an interesting discussion at the HPS meeting about the flowering of daffodils and how despite the mild weather they don’t seem to have flowered much earlier. The group speculated that they needed a cold snap to get them going which makes sense I suppose although if so and we continue to have mild weather then that logic would say none of the daffodils would flower, which makes no sense!!

2014_02230005logo

I did buy a few more hellebores at the HPS meeting.  I think I said last week that I wanted to add to my collection and I had been thinking of visiting Ashwoods again but was struggling to find the time to get there. All the hellebores I have are from Ashwoods so it is nice to add to the collection from a different source.  I am rather pleased with the white one above bought from another club member, such a pure colour.  I also bought two good size seedlings from the charity table.  They don’t have such a clear colour but I think the addition of some pinks will be nice.  As an additional plus the three hellebores, all a good size, cost me only £7!

2014_02230024logo

2014_02230025logo

Aside from taking some photographs today I sowed more seeds, this time some woodland perennials that had been collected in Japan.  I have bought seeds from a couple of plant collectors this year so am interested to see how they do.

2014_02230027

Hopefully next weekend I will get more of a chance to do some of the jobs I want to get on with.  In the meantime I get to enjoy the view above from my living room window although I do keep thinking that I must divide the clumps up when the snowdrops finish flowering.

 

13 thoughts on “My Garden This Weekend – 23rd February 2014

  1. It’s not been a good day here either, rather grey, drizzly and windy unfortunately. You found some lovely hellebores at the HPS meeting and your snowdrop border must lift your spirits everytime you look out of your window.

  2. I don’t think you can have too many hellebores. Interesting point on the daffodils. Mine are definitely lagging this year and we have only had a couple of nights below zero. February Gold is fast running out of time..

  3. I wanted to get more done in my garden this weekend too, but the weather did not cooperate. Too cold and rainy. I did get a shrub planted, but by the time I was done, my hands were practically numb. I love the Hellebores with freckles, they’re some of my favorites.

  4. Buying plants altho’ an addiciton a lot better than smoking!!!!!! I am assuming you DON’T smoke!! Back to sun here and had a lovely swim as tide going out – I love summer and swimming in the sea! Although only doing about 300 metres – swim out 100 the across 100 and then back to shore! Going up to Omaha tomorrow to dog/house sit for No1 daughter for a few days so into waves and if too big the estuary! I am very brown even tho’ I use 30+ block!

  5. Oh I do miss the plants sales table at HPS meetings Helen. I like your new hellebore acquisitions especially the dark pink spotty dotty one. Now here I’ve noticed that some daffodils are in flower earlier than usual. They are are on the other side of the stream that borders the garden and I’m wondering whether the water temperature might have anything to do with it.

  6. I think you did well with the hellebores, and by my reckoning you are far closer to spring than you admit. I bet a few dry, warm, wind free days would change your point of view immeasurably!

  7. ‘I did buy a few more hellebores’ she admits, no beating around the bush!! But why would you at that price?! I have dithered about Ashwood too as they also have witch hazels available, but even though it is in the ‘Midlands’ it is still a fair distance to get to, right on the other side of the conurbation from us. My Tete a Tete are much earlier this year, so perhaps it really does depend where they are sited. You will be noticing the days getting longer now, Helen, so subject to the weather this will give you more time in the garden next w/e.

  8. Helen I don’t think the daffodils need a cold spell because if that was true they would rarely flower on the island as we rarely get frost or go below zero, I wonder if it could be light levels as cloudy rainy weather is dull not like bright sunshine,
    love the first photo of your mauve crocus and the white hellebore, the snowdrop border is lovely I can understand your reluctance to disturb them, Frances

  9. Oh my, you have both crocuses and daffodils in bloom! I hope to see these in my garden in another month. Meanwhile, I thank you sincerely for the sneak preview.

Thank you for reading. I welcome comments from readers or I end up feeling like I am talking to myself. However, all comments are moderated in order to filter about spam .

