Signs that spring will be here soon

Now that the snow has mostly melted I have been out in the garden to see how my plants have faired.  Sadly it looks like my Geramium Madrense wont survive.  I have had it two years and it was fine last winter but it has been much colder this year for longer and I tihink it might just give up – only time will tell.

Still there were lots of signs that spring would be with us soon.


Winter Aconite


Snowdrops, Bluebells and Daffodils


Anemone blanda


Iris reticula


Rhubard – yipee

10 thoughts on “Signs that spring will be here soon

  1. It’s great to see the new growth coming through, though your plants are a bit further on than ours. I’m not a fan of rhubarb, but with fresh green growth like that, it would be worth growing as an ornamental. The blackbirds have started singing – spring will soon be here.

    In the mean time, it’s just started snowing again here.

  2. Good to see signs of life. Hopefully Madarense will have self seeded. I must admit the snow has thrown a spanner in the works regarding tender plants surviving. Stops us getting complacent I suppose!

  3. It’s so heartening to see new growth. I hope that the geranium may yet surprise you.
    I was too complacent this year and left an astelia out which I think is no more :(

  4. It’s time for the Happy It’s Almost Spring dance. Those little bulbs are just the thing to cheer the winter weary soul. I couldn’t find any of my Winter Aconites sprouting yet, but at least my Snowdrops have started blooming.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

