Before the haircut

Finally got some time this weekend to work in the garden.  There seemed so much to do to make me feel like I am in control.  So I decided to start at the beginning of one border and just  work my way round, clearing leaves and cutting  back perennials.

I seemed to get distracted by the Stipa gigantea which had taken a bit of a battering in the recent snow.  I cleared the leaves that had collected in the centre of the plant, I must admit some of them have been there since last winter.  I cut back  the old flowering stems and wasted a ridiculous waste of  stems pulling out the dead leaves which I dont think  I have really done for  a couple of years. Removing the dead leaves thinned  the plant right out and actually made the new leaves seem to lift.  Just to finish my hairdressing session off I trimmed the ends of the leaves so they didnt drag on the ground so much and again helped lift the plant.

I am really pleased  with the result, the plant looks a lot healthier and all ready for the spring.  However, I don’t think there  is a career for me  as a hairdresser.

After the haircut

