Lovely fat buds with promise of Spring
Lovely fat buds with promise of Spring

Its been a little strange round these parts in the last couple of weeks.  Just before Christmas I was contacted by the local BBC radio station.  They are working on improving their website and wanted to link through to my blog as a local garden/nature blog.   Great no problem – more visitors maybe!  Then she went on to ask how I felt about a small guest slot once a month on the Sunday gardening programme!!  For someone who avoids drawing attention to themselves this idea was a hoot.  We agreed they would come back to me after Christmas.  I consulted friends and family and they all agreed that I should give it a go as if I didn’t I would probably regret it.  This tied in with  my philosophy that you should grab opportunities when they come up (providing they didn’t terrify you completely).  I am a real believer in serendipity.  So when Julia from the BBC rang back I agreed to give it a go.

 

A tour of the studio and meeting the presenter followed I felt a little less nervous – but not much.  I was reassured that we were only talking 10 minutes and it would be more of a chat.  So last Sunday I did my first slot.  It was fun but over far too quickly and I realised that you can’t be polite on radio and wait for someone to finish speaking as that isn’t how it works.  I have another slot booked for a couple of weeks time.  The local radio did a nice write up which you can access here

Mark Diacono at Malvern Autumn Show
Mark Diacono at Malvern Autumn Show

I’m not the only one with exciting new projects happening.  Mark over at Otter Farm has set up an online shop.  You may remember that I reviewed Mark’s book A Taste of the Unexpected and he has followed this up with creating an online area where you can buy seeds and plants, not all the ones in his book are currently available but they will be during the year hopefully.  I had drawn up my seed list for the allotment a couple of weeks ago but had held off ordering when Mark announced that he had decided to set the shop up.  The website is lovely, very modern and clean looking although there are far too many photos of flowerpots at the moment! (they are there until Mark has photographs of various varieties to replace them).  All his seed packets are the same price which makes life easier.  I have placed my order and am now eagerly awaiting its arrival.  Mark will be expanding the site to incorporate recipes and tips and ideas etc – he wants it to be more than just an online shop.  It all sounds exciting and I would recommend a visit.

So 2011 has started off with some exciting developments and I have realised that today my blog is 3 years and 2 days old – I’m amazed I stuck at it for this long but I am glad I have.  Through it I’ve made some fab friends, been great places and learnt new skills.  I wonder what this year will bring

