2011_03120008

Why are small white flowers so hard to get into focus especially when you don’t have an SLR camera?

My Prunus incisa ‘Kojo-no-mai’ has just broken into flower and it has really lifted the garden. Until now this year all the colour in the garden has been low down: snowdrops, primroses, daffodils and hellebores but now the Kojo-no-mai is in flower everything seems more balanced.

I didn’t realise when I bought this shrub about 5 years ago what a fabulous plant it was.  I hadn’t really got as obsessive about gardening as I am now and was just after a couple of shrubs and this was in the local garden centre and was a reasonable price.  However, I think I got  bargain!!  The shrub is quite slow-growing and has a nice shape to it.  As well as the beautiful flowers it has opening on it at the moment come the autumn the leaves turn a fiery red which is very welcome in my garden at that time of the year.

I can see it clearly from my living room window as the sun sets and the white flowers are really glimmering in the dusk along with the fading snowdrops – lovely! The flowering of the Kojo-no-mai means that any day now there will be lots more colour as other shrubs burst into life – I can’t wait

