A Walk Around The Garden

A daft conversation on twitter where we were tweeting views from our back doors this morning has led me to do a photographic tour of the garden.  I am really pleased with how the garden has bulked out since last year and beginning to look much better.  It is probably partly due to all the rain we have had especially when you compare it to the dryness of last spring.

Anyway my garden slopes and to get to the main part of it you go up a flight of stairs.  When you get to the top of the stairs you are facing the gravel border.  It is called the gravel border simply because there is a gravel path in front of it.  I struggled with this area all last year partly because of the shade from next doors shrubs and also because it is quite dry at the back again because of next doors shrubs.  However, my neighbour has been pruning aggressively and the light has flooded in and the plants seem to get more moisture when it rains.

Rising up from the gravel border is the bank or daisy border.  It is looking very green at the moment and to be honest only green.  The planting is predominantly late summer but there are some phlomis coming into flower and the odd self-seeded foxglove.

The gravel path turns (badly) into a woodchip path – I need to sort this out. and you walk along what was the back of the old pond.  On the left is the new big garden (aka the old pond). The ligularia is really thriving this year from its new location and of course from all the rain.  The bank on your right is a continuation of the bank above but is more shady here so planted with foxgloves, honesty, primulas, hostas etc.

The messy stone edging is temporary as I will be using the stone elsewhere in the Autumn if we finally get around to finishing the steps off near the patio.  Anyway at the end of the woodchip path you can go one of two ways.  If you go right you go up a couple more steps.  You will see the compost area on your right.  Looking very tidy for a change but that’s down to my eldest son not me and also because I have been taking garden waste to the allotment.

Carry on round and you have the original woodland border which has all sorts of interesting things in it like Trilliums but it is such a mess and on the ‘sort out’ list as is more plants to grow up the horrid fence.  The path then goes straight across the back of the garden at the top of the slope.  The border on your left has 3 bamboos planted in it which I am hoping will grow to create a screen not only to hide the fence but also to obstruct the view of the neighbour at the back – long story. I have a few shrubs in here as well but again I need to ‘sort out’ this border to give it an identity.

The path is a dead-end – I know you aren’t meant to have these in gardens as they affect the flow of the garden but there we go, so about turn and we go back down the path and to the steps alongside the bog garden.

Ahead of you is the new woodland border which went in last year and which is filling out nicely. From here the border runs along the top of the wall and this is what I call the cottage garden border and which I am showing each month on the End of Month Views.

A quick trot across the ‘lawn’ and you are back to the steps and down to the patio which I’m not showing as it’s a mess at the moment.

I hope you enjoyed a walk round my garden.  It may not have the perfection of a show garden but its my garden, with my favourite plants and I am beginning to be a little bit proud of it.

21 Comments Add yours

  1. I think you should be very proud of it … there are wonderful elements, lots of interesting nooks and crannies and of course the beautiful plants. I love your woodland border, the gravel border and the pathway and the the new big garden. It all looks so green and lush. Beautiful!!

  2. Show gardens are just that, they are for show, they only exist in their perfection for a brief time, they never get to change and deteriorate like real gardens do ! I love looking at real gardens, they are never static, there is always work to do. I enjoyed your virtual tour very much.

  3. Arabella Sock says:

    I am rather jealous of your woodland and shade planting these are plants I’m always drawn too but which won’t grow in my dry chalk open garden. Enjoyed the tour and didn’t realise how much your garden sloped.

  4. I’ll add my little bit, and you can be properly proud!

  5. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Yvonne – NZ – What a lot of growth from a few months ago. Gardeners are such optimists – we can visualize bare spaces and ‘see’ filled in flowers etc. I always ‘see’ a flower not a seed. The only worry is I hope your bamboo is non-suckering kind. Enthusiastic bamboo planters in the 70’s created enormous problems when the bamboos took off and very hard to get rid of.

  6. Julieanne says:

    I enjoyed the walk around your garden, what a sweet idea. You have a lovely space. I know that feeling of ‘on the list to sort out’. It can be a frustration, but also a joy that gardening makes you take time to develop your garden. Show gardens are fun for a day, but it’s real gardens like yours that I love.

  7. Sandra Jonas says:

    Looking lovely & lush, nice textural quality too in the ‘green garden’ Great work!

  8. You have a gorgeous garden. I’ve been complaining that my gardens do not look good from a wide view. Your gardens look good close up and from a wide view. You are very talented.

  9. I’ve just had a lovely morning wander around your garden, thank you! I especially like your (green at the moment) daisy border. Enjoy!

  10. Christina says:

    I’m so glad you’re beginning to enjoy and like your garden Helen, you always sound so negative about it and you do have some very interesting plants. Christina

  11. hillwards says:

    Your garden looks lovely, lots of interest. Your hard work is showing through.

  12. Holleygarden says:

    Oh, I can see why you’re proud of it! Just beautiful. And you’ve given me an idea about possibly using hardwood chips for a pathway I’m thinking of making. And the dead end is a beautiful pathway. I would think traveling back and forth along it would just be double the pleasure.

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi HG – I find woodchip easy although weeds and other things have a habit of seeding into it and you have to top it up from time to time but generally its cheap and easy

  13. I love the views…everything lush and growing…mine is weed ridden and hidden by the unruly weeds I have not gotten under control…

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi Donna – there are plenty of weeds in there but they are either swamped by the plants or I just didnt show them 🙂

  14. Lyn says:

    Helen, this is a great post. I am always trying to visualise other people’s gardens from their blogs, often unsuccessfully because only a bit is shown at a time. Now I understand how your garden flows and I have it in my head, so that I’ll understand your future posts so much better! Like Arabella, I knew you gardened on a slope, but had no idea how steep it is. Quite a challenge, and you’re doing a lovely job. The woodland border is really coming together now, isn’t it? One day, when I’m brave enough, (or when I think it’s looking good enough) I’ll show my whole garden too…

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi Lyn – I laugh when people say the slope is steep ass it isnt as steep as my last garden!!!!

  15. Donna@GWGT says:

    Nice tour. I had to stop for a break at the shady part as it was so inviting.

  16. kate says:

    What a lovely post – that’s helped me to get a handle on the individual parts. I love the shady bits, especially, and poo to people who state that all paths must go on. I had a dead-end path in my last place; it led to a bench and a quiet corner. And your dead-end path enables you to get closer to your plants, so it’s an all-round Good Thing.

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi Kate – glad you liked the tour and yes I agree poo to the design critics

  17. Hi Helen, that was the perfect post to read to re-acquaint myself with your garden. I think you have every right to be proud, you have worked wonders over the past year, the structure is stronger and the plantings are really filling out and developing “presence”, if that doesn’t sound too pretentious. I love the mix of textures in the slope planting. Really lovely, makes me want to wander round it myself and linger to admire the many interesting plants you have.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

