Wordless Wednesday 30/5/12 – Meconopsis ‘China Blue’

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Lyn says:

    So lovely… And the slide show is a wonderful idea.

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi Lyn and Donna

      I tried to take a photo everyday from the same spot to record the flower opening but the spot I chose when the bud was closed turned out not to the best spot when the flower opened!!

  2. I love the slide show of the flower as it blooms

  3. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Yvonne – NZ – I’m Sooooooo jealous – I can’t grow this gorgeous poppy – too warm apparently!! BUT I have hundreds of my opium poppies popping up – will have to thin!!! Have you tried the Chatham Island Forgetmenot?? Like a huge forgetmenot, dark blue, large shiny leaves. Was found on windswept Chatham Islands – off our South Island. It needs cold weather also and not suitable for Auckland. Try and track it down if it’s in England and you will love it. Needs shade.

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi Yvonne – I have heard of Chatham Island Forget me nots and I think I tried to grow them from seed once. I will have another look, thanks for the recommendation

  4. Christina says:

    Beautiful, Helen! This could be my favourite plant – and I can’t grow it. Christina

  5. PJ Girl says:

    I wish I had a “love” rather than “like” button! I didn’t realise that they start out so purple/violet… great slide show idea.

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi PG – it is interesting that we dont notice so much until we really start to look at flowers closely over a period of time. I have found this doing botanical art

  6. gwendoline says:

    lovely !!! such a beautifull flower !

  7. hillwards says:

    How lovely! We were admiring these at Malvern and the violet hue of their new petals, they’re definitely on my wish list for the future…

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi – I have admired them for years but been wary of the cost and whether they would grow in my garden. However I saw this at a garden centre near Carnarveon and it was only £5.99!! Its been worth the money these last couple of weeks and if it comes up next year it will be a huge result

    2. hillwards says:

      What a bargain! I’ll be interested to hear whether they reappear next year, then.
      S x

  8. easygardener says:

    It is a beautiful flower – the colour is extraordinary. Unfortunately I can’t get it to grow for me.

  9. Arabella Sock says:

    You are so lucky being able to grow those. Beautiful colour. I don’t have a chance with them in my growing conditions.

  10. What a lovely way to watch a very pretty flower opening. Thank you!

  11. Donna says:

    It’s one of my absolute favourite flowers but just can’t get it to grow from seed at all. Your’s looks so lovely unfurling, you’re so clever getting it to grow Helen!

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi Donna – I’m not clever as I bought the plant. What will be interesting is whether it reappears next year. I do know that you have to sow fresh seed so am going to try that to

  12. Mark and Gaz says:

    Lovely colour, lets hope it come back well for you next year.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

