Garden Bloggers Bloom Day June 2012

There is lots of colour in the garden at the moment but I realised when I went out in a brief break from the rain that all the flowers contributing to the colour are quite dainty and small and it is the overall floriferousness of the plant that is really delivering the punch. The Astrantia (above) is a case in point as are the many Geraniums I have scattered around the garden.

Above is Geranium pratense ‘Splish Splash’ which I love and it seems rather apt given the endless rain we have had over recent weeks.  I discovered this evening that I have two of these plants.  My weakness for growing things from seed means that I keep acquiring packets of mixed geranium seeds just to see what I get.  It is interesting to see the seedlings develop, some produce big leaves, some have longer stems and then you wait to see what colour the flowers are.

This is the first rose to flower in the garden.  I  can’t for the life of me remember its name, I have trawled back through posts and not found it anywhere so it will remain anonymous for now.  This poor plant is flowering despite me since it was moved last Autumn and the Autumn before I have promised it that it will stay put for a few years.

The wind and rain haven’t done too much damage although I have had to stake some of the foxgloves but the Thalictrum flavum above has developed a rather twisty stem despite me trying to rescue it with late staking.  Saying that I do like that it hangs over the path as the intention is that the path will be a journey though big and exuberant planting.

Sadly the flowers that have  really suffered with the weather are the Aquilegia which have been quite battered.  Some I have staked but lots seem to have hidden themselves away amongst the surrounding lupins, peonies and other herbaceous.  The peonies have flowered, been bedraggled and faded, some of the Delphinium have been snapped of at the stem, the rest seem to be waiting for the sun to come out before they open.

Another first flower are the Phlomis russeliana – it has taken at least three years for them to flower from the seed being sown.

To see what is flowering in other gardens around the world visit Carol’s blog May Dreams

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Happy GBBD. I do like the twisty branching of the Thalictrum. It makes a nice image too. My favorite image is the Astrantia. So pretty.

  2. I love Splish Splash, not only the name but the delicate shades of blue. This is why garden blogs are so great, I get to discover plants I didn’t know about. Astrantias are so pretty aren’t they!

  3. noelmorata says:

    aloha,

    what a fun tour of your garden, i loved Splish Splash, what a fun name …you have alot of beautiful blooms in your garden, thanks for sharing them 🙂

  4. Holleygarden says:

    Three years to flower! You are certainly patient! 🙂 I think a lot of small and dainty blooms all over the garden sounds so romantic and colorful. And I see them in the background of some of your photos. I bet your garden looks gorgeous.

  5. kininvie says:

    I shall be curmudgeonly as usual. ‘Splish Splash’ is a purely commercial name dreamt up by some nursery for ‘geranium pratense striatum’, no doubt because it thought the punters couldn’t cope with Latin. There’s nothing sufficiently distinctive between ‘Splish Splash’ and the species to warrant being described as a named cultivar. It may be a fun name, but if we all thought of fun names for our plants, there would be no point in taxonomy. That said, it’s a very pretty plant indeed – in fact very much prettier than its silly name!

    1. I agree with you kininvie. It makes me cross when suppliers and growers invent names like Geranium ‘Hardy Blues’ which is no more than a collection of common white and blue species dressed up to be something ‘special’.

  6. ‘Splish Splash’ stole my heart today. It’s just beautiful. The Aquilegia looks lovely despite being a little battered and bruised. The twisty stem on that Thalistrum is fantastic. What a great sight. Your blooms are lovely and your photos are terrific.

  7. How come I’ve missed astrantias? Suddenly I see them on loads of blogs and on GW last night. I must live in an opaque bubble. D

  8. shirl says:

    I’m a hardy geranium fan too – love splish splash, never seen it before. Nice Astrantia, every year I admire them and say I should add it to my garden and after a visit to the Gardening Scotland Show at the beginning of the month… yay I now have a couple bought from a display at the end of the show sell off. I love it and have deep red heuchera crawling around it… yum 😉

    Sorry to hear your garden has had a battering, Hope the weather gets kinder to you. Happy GBBD 😀

  9. You’ve reminded me that I need to add Astrantia to my garden! Love your columbines, even battered. And love that Phlomis russeliana! Congratulations on your first blooms. It must be very rewarding to grow from seed.

  10. My astrantia just bloomed and are so beautiful. Your blooms are lovely and I love the columbine. Geraniums are so welcome this time of year for color. Love Splish Splash…happy Bloom Day.

  11. Lea says:

    Wonderful, beautiful blooms!
    I especially like the pink rose.
    Happy Gardening!
    Lea
    Lea’s Menagerie

  12. Lyn says:

    I was going to ask for the botanical name of the geranium, but Kininvie’s already answered it. The structure of the Astrantia flower is so interesting, worth growing for that alone, I think.

  13. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Yvonne – NZ – I haven’t grown strantias they look pretty – will have to find some! My garden a bit weird as almost shortest day and COLD – yet my Duchess du Brabant having another flowering fling (the forth or ffth this season) – Sally Holmes has lots of flowers and lovely apricot buds and David Austin Heritage is also having a last flower before ‘real?’ winter. There have been a lot of frosts, but I live on Mt Eden an old volcano and don’t get them. The lowest temp overnight has been 4degres cel which is pretty cold for us. Today was sunny and I sat on deck in singlet for 45 min or so before the sun disappeared behind cloud and the temperature dropped somewhat. Happy gardening, not too much rain and wind and plenty of sun!!

  14. b-a-g says:

    Three years to flower ? – you definitely are a patient gardener.

  15. Dee says:

    The rain is certainly giving you beautiful blooms. We’ve had plenty of rain this year so far. I am very grateful. I love geraniums. I have three although I’ve tried many more. So many don’t like Oklahoma. Too hot and dry probably. Happy Bloom Day.

  16. hillwards says:

    Hardy geraniums and astrantias are real stars in the garden, especially at this time of year. Glad that the wind and rain haven’t dented your garden too much, despite a few twisty stems and spoilt aquilegias (they shine through regardless!).
    I sowed seeds for Phlomis russeliana this spring, but they haven’t even germinated, alas… I shall tuck them in the “patiently awaiting” pile of pots outside the greenhouse, and hope they suddenly spring up some day – and then just another three years before they flower! :).
    Sara

  17. Christina says:

    I prefer the dainty mass of small flowers to one big blousy bloom any day. For me profusion is lovely! Christina

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

