Courgettes are Go!

Its July down the allotment and despite the rain and low temperatures we have been having it’s not doing too bad.  As you can see the courgettes have started to fruit.  The one above is Courgette Floridor and I have already had 4 fruits off it.  I also have Courgette Clarion and picked the first fruit today.  Both plants are very healthy but the same cannot be said for my dark green Courgettes – I can’t remember the variety. They went in about a month later and have really suffered with slug damage.  I think the others had got well established before the real damp weather unleashed slugs galore.

But as you can see they are valiantly struggling on so I don’t have the heart to pull them up yet.

Elsewhere on the allotment things are generally doing OK especially the buttercups and thistles but then I have hardly  been to the allotment for two weeks due to a heavy workload, rain and our  holiday in Barcelona.  I am on leave this week so am determined to try to get on top of things, if the weather will let me.  The borage looks wonderful and has definitely drawn the small amount of black fly from the tomatoes.  The tomatoes are looking OK so far and there are even some small fruits.  I just need it to warm up and hopefully there will be a tomato crop.

The kale and purple sprouting broccoli is also looking good and I am really pleased with the netting and bamboo hoops combo which has deterred the pigeons.  Having lost  my entire cauliflower crop to pigeons I am a little twitchy when it comes to brassicas.  I am also wary of using netting since last summer we killed a grass snake in some netting which was very distressing.  This time I have pulled the netting taut and weighted the sides down with stone so hopefully we wont have a repeat performance.

I finally weeded the celeriac and celery bed and I am quite chuffed with progress so far.  I haven’t grown either of these crops before so I need to do some research on what to do next.  I am protecting the plants from the various low flying pests with some whizzy fencing I bought and I think it has also helped protect the plants from the winds we have had.

Now before you get irritated with my tidy allotment I have to confess I have only shown you the goodish bits.  At the fruit end of the plot it is not so good.  The weeds are taking over and all the salads in the raised bed had bolted.  So I decided enough was enough and pulled the lot up and have started again with a new sowing of mixed leaves and also salad onions.  I have never really got on top of this area it is always the lowest priority but I am determined to get it  sorted and get some paths down by this winter!

Looking at the weather forecast I might get some more time on Friday morning this week so hopefully it might start to look a bit more loved.  Saying that despite feeling full  of despair while I am weeding away, wondering if I will ever get on top of the situation, walking back to the car I notice that few of the plots are immaculate and many  are struggling with weeds like me so maybe I should be kinder to myself.

 

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Christina says:

    Yes, you should be kinder to yourself. I really don’t think vegetables are nearly as easy to grow as tv and radio, and magazines for that matter would have us believe. I think yu’re doing brilliantly. The most important thing is to grow things you like eating and then enjoy them. Lettuces in summer is another problem, even more so here as they bolt just when you want to eat them! Are your yellow courgettes dwarf, the ones I grew definately are although it doesn’t indicate that on the packet. Christina

  2. Donna says:

    Yes, give yourself a pat on the back – your plot’s looking great considering all the ‘weather’ we’ve been having for this summer!
    For all our efforts thus far we’ve been rewarded with the following: lots of good sized strawbs riddled with holes, lettuces and caulies appeared okay but on closer inspection likewise unedible, both infested with some kind of eggs (origin unknown perhaps slugs?), carrots sprouted masses of green tops but stunted, pinky-finger sized carrots underneath, no show beetroots and the toms too underdeveloped to produce anything in time for this year – now just waiting to see what’s going to come of the sturon onion sets. Oh well, such is life.

  3. debsgarden says:

    Your veggies are looking wonderful, and I bet other gardeners admire your lovely plot. I rarely manage to stay “on top of it”. The weeds are faster than me!

  4. ARGH! I’m so jealous of your courgette progress…. ours are nowhere near as fabulous. Hope you get to enjoy them soon

  5. I agree with everyone else, your allotment is looking fine! Mine is looking shameful as I have had hardly a moment’s useful time to get down there over the last month, and the non stop rain has turned it into a rainforest of weeds! Sigh! So don’t worry – we are all feeling dispirited on the allotment front – it’s never as hands on and immediate as your own back garden, it just can’t be. Great courgettes! Ursula

  6. messyme says:

    Even with almost constant watering and pampering the few things I planted this year were a total flop. Next year I will supplement the soil with compost and all kinds of other good things. Have already done that in preparation for cooler weather…here in Texas…maybe in November haha. You have a beautiful garden !!

  7. Mark and Gaz says:

    Its looking good despite a little slug damage!

  8. Mark and Gaz says:

    Looking good despite the slug damage!

  9. Libby says:

    Looking good (even the weedy bits! there’s no way I could keep on top of an allotment) and your spherical courgettes are further along than mine. My first fruit seems to be stuck at the size of a golf ball.

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi Libby – I planted my courgettes on a pile of manure and then I feed them more or less every week

  10. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Yvonne – NZ – Looks huge – how many are you feeding (the human variety) – didn’t know about borage and tomatoes – thanks – I have some self sowing now –
    eek – snakes – thank goodness we don’t have snakes in NZ!! Hope not too much rain to bring on the mildew!

  11. Owen says:

    Hey Hel! Wow! Your allotment looks brilliant! Theres hardly anything for you to do at all this week! I went up to see my allotment a few weeks back and almost weeped after seeing the bind weed’s growth over taken everything. Congratulate yourself on how neat and tidy yours looks! My courgettes, squash and beans have all been eaten by the slugs- im thinking next year forget the soft veggies and go for more fruit bushes which you can mulch and leave. I just couldnt get up enough this year to keep on top of the weeds. 😦
    Well done again!

  12. easygardener says:

    I think your allotment is looking very good. Don’t forget that immaculate allotments usually have someone working on them every day. Not every one can or wants to do that amount of intensive work.
    My courgettes look like your second picture. This year has been disheartening. Borage is lovely in the veg garden and it always self seeds.

  13. Anna says:

    It’s been a challenging year for growing especially if you are working as well so don’t be hard on yourself. I have also grown ‘Floridor’ for the first time and have picked a similar amount of courgettes. My other is ‘Romanesco’ which is green but as yet I’m waiting for a taste. I sowed a second batch in June so maybe there’s more hope for them if and when the weather perks up.

  14. Your garden is so lush and wonderful..weeds..oh my I couldn’t see a one…I wish my humble plot was even close to looking this good.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

