Grubby in the Greenhouse

I amused my eldest at lunchtime today when I said I was going to get changed so I could get “grubby in the greenhouse”.  What I meant was that I wanted to give the greenhouse a good clean and I know how wet and grubby I get doing this.

In recent years I have cleaned out the greenhouse over the Christmas break which only makes sense in terms of having the time.  However, it means moving all my tender plants out into the cold while I do the cleaning and sloshing water around on a cold day is not at all jolly so far from ideal.

Now I know from previous greenhouse posts that some  readers will think my greenhouse is very tidy  already.  But it hasn’t had the glass cleaned for a good year and the cobwebs are becoming very troublesome.  Also this is the only quiet weekend I have for the next month and I didn’t want to be in the situation of panicking when the weather suddenly gets cold and putting all my tenders away before I had a good clean out.

So everything was dragged out on to the patio, stuff thrown and a large bucket of soapy water employed to wash down the glass.

I had to laugh as I have been trying to get  fern spores to germinate with no success but when I moved some of the staging out I had a lovely crop of ferns.  I am wondering whether I should just chuck the spores I am trying to germinate on the greenhouse floor and wait and see.  Because my greenhouse backs onto the retaining wall of the back garden the heat is reduced.  This is helpful when the weather is hot and has created a good environment for the ferns to germinate but I have concluded that trying to grow tomatoes is pointless.  I have tried for 3 years now and failed to get more than one or two ripe fruits.  Cucumbers now are a different matter and they grow very well in my greenhouse so that’s what I shall stick to in future.

Anyway, having balanced on the step-ladder and retaining wall to wash down the outside and scrubbed the staging, I am quite pleased with my new shiny greenhouse.

 

Oh and I have put the heater in ready for the winter since I have to thread the cable under the staging so it made sense to do this now before the greenhouse gets full.

I need to put some fresh gravel  in the gravel trays but then I can start moving the tenders in bit by bit.

All in all a good afternoon’s work.

26 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks great! I was busy today doing the opposite … getting ready for spring and all that it entails in the garden 🙂

  2. lindasgarden says:

    Looks lovely Helen

  3. Sandra Jonas says:

    Good going Helen. I need to get to clean out my Bothy to accommodate all the pots I have to winter over. Thanks for the reminder!

  4. It does look like new…I would chuck those spores on the floor and see what happens.

  5. Dobby says:

    A good job well done.And I bet you feel a sense of achievement at having done it before the cold weather comes. I always change before attempting anything in the garden as I know how ‘grubby’ I always get!

  6. Judy says:

    Do you grow any vegetables or mostly utilize it for over wintering plants that need protection?

  7. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Yvonne – NZ – Oh the poor wee spiders!!! Now they can’t chase the bad bugs!!! And you will have to whitewash the glass to keep the strong sun out (at least that’s what my Dad used to do when we had commercial glasshouses in Christchurch!!)

  8. Looks as though it is now in pristine condition Helen. What a cathartic afternoon.

  9. in and out of my garden says:

    What a great greenhouse, have not got room in my garden sadly, though have seen a nice grow frame on the Crocus site I ‘m very tempted by. Funny how things will grow where they decide sometimes isn’t it?

  10. Great Job do you fancy coming and doing mine for me?

  11. Christina says:

    Well done, Helen, most days it is still to hot to go into the greenhouse here, but mine too needs cleaning before the cold weather arrives and the lemons are moved inside. Christina

  12. Jennifer Finney says:

    I just wish I had a greenhouse to clean Helen. I keep dropping hints but he’s not listening. Nice work anyway. x

  13. If you are ever in my neck of the woods and wish to get grubby I have a greenhouse that would LOVE for you to come and visit! You have such a pretty one it’s no wonder you want those windows to be whistle stop clean. And all the better before the winter sets in.

  14. Hugh Martin says:

    My greenhouse problem is finding black-widow spiders in every nook and cranny.

  15. Mark and Gaz says:

    Nice job there Helen 🙂

  16. hillwards says:

    Very organised, shipshape and ready for the cold months. Have to admire those ferns for taking care of themselves without any assistance.

  17. Looking good Helen.

    I’m waiting for a cooler day before I have a go at mine. Be like a sauna in there, but suppose might be good for sweating off a few pounds!

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi Jono – quite shady on my patio this weekend, didnt get the sunshine so was very pleasant and everything dried quickly

  18. croftgarden says:

    I am now feeling guilty and ashamed of the state of my polytunnel. I will at least go and tidy up tomorrow – well later this week.

  19. Great job. Looks like a perfect place for your plants and for the gardener. – http://mary-goingnative.blogspot.com/

  20. I’m impressed! The only reason my own greenhouse is not a source of shame is that I washed the glass as we re-assembled it! Since I am not planning to move again – ever – I may have to take a leaf out of your book and make time for a good wash and brush up. Maybe every couple of years…

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi Janet – my greenhouse is so small I feel a need to tidy it out just to make sure I have as much space as possible

  21. Great job …. it looks brilliant! All the rain took care of most of the dirt on the outside of our greenhouse and the dirt on the inside can act as insulation until the Spring!

  22. debsgarden says:

    Nice! Your greenhouse must be a joy to you, as well as the plants who stay there. I have never had a greenhouse, but if I did, I would hope I could keep it as neat ad clean as you.

  23. carole195 says:

    Looks lovely, puts me to shame😞

  24. Don’t give up on tomatoes yet. This year was dreadful – not enough sun. There will be plenty of gardeners out there who normally grow tomatoes well but also had a poor year this year.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

