50th Wedding Anniversary Cake

I am quite chuffed with myself at how the cake I have made for my parent’s 50th Golden Wedding Anniversary has turned out.  I am no cake decorator and have had many a run in with a piping bag which I have lost.  In the past I did some fab cakes for the boys birthdays but they were always making shapes etc out of fondant icing – I can’t do dainty or elegant.

Anyway, here it is.  The cake itself is the standard rich fruit cake I make every year for Christmas which never fails.  Then my amazingly unskilled decoration is some fondant icing and a few bought bits and pieces arranged kind of artistically.

When I told Mum I had made her a cake for their ‘do’  Saturday she said she didn’t want anything formal or smart and would be quite happy with my normal snow scene!  So hopefully she will be quiet pleased with this effort.  I know I am.

(Of course now looking at the photograph I can see a dent in the side which I will have to try to tweak!!)

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh that is lovely!! Your parents will LOVE it!

  2. Jennifer Finney says:

    Its a delightful looking cake Helen, much better than the shop bought varieties. I would be well chuffed it my daughter made that for me. Well done.

  3. I think it looks great. Festive, but not too fuzzy. I’d happily have second servings…

  4. lindasgarden says:

    Helen it lovely and brill well done you could put a bow in front of the dent or some flowers of put their card in front of it but it looks fine to me as it is well done again

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi Linda – it occurs to me that my parents’ eyesight might mean they dont notice the dent anyway. Plus if I ply them with drink all will be well:)

  5. I didn’t notice the dent until you pointed it out! Really looks impressive & professional. I’m sure they’ll love it.

  6. shirl says:

    Nice Helen – I am certain your parents will be delighted with your work 🙂

    I’ve enjoyed decorating many a cake over the years and one of my favs was my Mum & Dad’s 50th too. I loved the way it turned out. Coincidentally, last week I made them a simple sponge (very unforgiving if it doesn’t rise) with a jam filling for their 58th (my Dad is unwell and doesn’t like the taste of sweet things just now). However, I did get carrried away with colour and making fondant roses on the top which they both loved and my Mum instantly got her camera out 😀

    Wishing you all a great ‘do’ on Saturday 😀

  7. leenie says:

    It’s lovely and will mean more as you made it for them.

  8. Cathy says:

    Well done Helen – I don’t do dainty or elegant either when it comes to cakes and I think they look far more tempting when they are clearly a labour of love and not that of a professional. As lindasgarden says you could always tuck a little card over the dent or just adjust the ribbon if it is going to bother you. Enjoy the occasion on Saturday!

  9. Judy says:

    It looks beautiful, will taste delicious, and will mean much more that you made it – truly a gift recognizing such a wonderful celebration.

  10. Holleygarden says:

    It’s beautiful. Elegant, actually. And I bet it will taste fabulous! Congratulations to your parents.

  11. hillwards says:

    Such a lovely thing to do, hope the celebrations are as good as the cake!

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

