Watercolour 12 – Hellebore (never ending)

A quick update on my never-ending watercolour painting.  This is number 12 in my learning curve.  As you will see from this post I have been painting this for some time but if I am honest it not that long since we didn’t have  any classes from July to the end of September.

Anyway, this evening the stems started to go in which was just the lift I needed as I have been fiddling around with the leaves for ever and my enthusiasm has waned.  Leaves are not popular amongst us ‘botanical’ painters they are quite tedious and hard to get right.

Close  up the stems are a little wobbly as my hand kept shaking but never mind I think these are only noticeable really close up.

My goal is to finish it by Christmas especially as I’m not sure I can go to the classes next term.

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow Helen, you are amazingly talented!! It’s beautiful!

  2. Libby says:

    Wow that’s awesome! The flower on the left particularly is just gorgeous.

  3. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Looking good – I think I will stick to my wet-on-wet – faster!! Or photographs documenting the seasons changes!!

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi Yvonne – I like wet on wet very satisfying and especially good for the Autumn leaves we have at the moment.

  4. Donna says:

    I had to laugh re your waning enthusiasm over the leaves and having ‘shaky hands’ – I’m with you there..straight lines just do my brain in!
    🙂

  5. Is your inspiration based on a photo from your garden? It is going to look great when you are finished. Are you aiming to finish by Christmas because you are going to give it as a present, or will you keep it for yourself?

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi NS I want to finish by Christmas as I will have been doing it for nearly a year by then and I feed up with it now. I intend to keep it myself. I did a picture for my Mum last year and this is the first one I have done that I really like.

  6. Helen this is beautiful..you do have an artist’s eye!

  7. Lesley Baker says:

    That’s beautiful- I’d be absolutely thrilled if I could do that!
    DON’T point out the ‘mistakes’- we’re always too critical of ourselves!

  8. gardennutter says:

    Helen my husband is a professional artist (and a lot of our friends) and I’m forever asking him to paint me some flowers but alas it is not his thing so he won’t. He always says, he himself is his hardest critic so, I think as long as you paint, you will always find something to criticize in your work. I would be proud to have your picture on my wall.

  9. hillwards says:

    You’ve really captured the essence of these hellebores – only finishing touches left 😉

    1. patientgardener says:

      Finishing touches!!!! There are still whole leaves to do!!!

  10. Mark and Gaz says:

    That’s impressive Helen!

  11. djdfr says:

    Beautiful work. We share some of the same interests.

  12. leenie says:

    I rather enjoy painting leaves, though I agree they can be a pain at times:)

    1. patientgardener says:

      Hi Leenie – I enjoy the first leaf but at this point I am now very tired of green

  13. Beautiful, Helen. I hope you are able to finish it soon!

  14. Anna says:

    Almost there – it’s looking good 🙂 Have you got a frame in readiness?

  15. Jean says:

    Helen, I’m late catching up on your blog, but I just wanted to say I love this!

  16. Ree says:

    Hi, Your blog title caught my eye since I’m an avid gardener too. I love your botanical drawings.. Iris and Hellebores sketches are exquisite. I’m also trying to indulge in botanical art albeit through my camera lens.

  17. ginnytalbert says:

    Oh my, how very fine this this!

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

