Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

2012_07190003

This week’s photo challenge’s theme is Home.  At first I wasn’t going to participate as I thought I don’t have any photographs of my home but the more I thought about it I found myself thinking about what the word ‘home’  meant to me.  I thought about what I miss when I am on holiday outside of England and it is the greenness of our countryside with the broad leave trees and old-fashioned meadows that I am drawn to.  So the photograph above represents an old-fashioned English landscape.

For more Weekly Photo Challenge posts visit the Daily Post

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Anna B says:

    Hello Helen! I love your photo and I know what you mean about our countryside. I think it is quite unique and although I never miss it when I’m on holiday I know that if I moved to another country I would definitely miss it.

  2. I am like you. Home means more than the house, it includes the sense of place created around it. It means those that reside in it too.

  3. Bernieh says:

    Your meadow photos is just lovely. I think if I were to join in this challenge, I too wouldn’t be thinking of my actual house as home.

  4. A very evocative photo, Gives you a sense of a certain kind of countryside.

  5. Even though I live in Turkey now, I really don’t think you can beat the English countryside on a bright summers day. There is something about the feel and smell that evokes happy memories of day’s gone by when life was easy and carefree 🙂

  6. Diana Studer says:

    thanks for your comment … you might like to go into your Blogger commenting profile and add a link to your current blog. It now goes to Meet@Malvern, and this http://www.patientgardener.co.uk/ which died in May last year.

    1. Diana Studer says:

      there’s clever. Via your G+ it brought me here ;~)

  7. Cathy says:

    I empathise with you on that feeling, Helen (not that I would be out of the UK at all these days), but my heart and soul are definitely here in our house and garden, so that must be home for me.

  8. VP says:

    Hi – this is a great response to the challenge. Home is so much more than just the bricks and mortar we happen to live in any one time.

  9. Jean says:

    I am struck by how reminiscent the English landscape in this picture is of my own home landscape of New England.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

