Creative Thursday: Felted Bag

2013_05140007

Just to prove that my first Creative Thursday post wasn’t a one hit wonder here is another project finished.  This is the first thing I have crocheted that isn’t a granny square or a scarf.  Admittedly it is made up of rectangles so there is no shaping required – something I am yet to try.  The strap was entertaining as you crochet a tube going round and round and round, it grew rapidly like a mad snake and entertained the cat immensely.  I am also rather proud of the little flower on the front which I thought was going to be very hard but turned out to be simple.

The biggest dilemma I had was whether the felt the bag.  I had originally been enticed by the pattern in the Art of Crochet because of the prospect of having a go at felting but the wool, Twilleys Freedom, was so pretty and created a wonderful texture that to felt it seemed a pity.  Having recently discovered Ravelry I put my toe in the water and asked for advice.  I was promptly advised that felting would make it stronger and less like to tear so in for a penny in for a pound.  The felting was simple you just pop it on a hot wash with detergent, no conditioner, and include some old rough towels (or someone advised trainers).  I washed the tension square first to see what the effect would be.  It turned out OK so I threw caution to the wind and went for it.

2013_05150003

I have to say that I think the result is great.  The fabric is definitely more solid and you feel it is unlikely to tear.  Sewing it up was simple although it took a few practices before I remembered how to do blanket stitch and I have to say I don’t think my finishing off inside the bag is as good as I would have liked but we live and learn.

Next up is a knitted short-sleeved summer cardigan.  I have my doubts since I haven’t knitted for a year and the last thing I knitted went horribly wrong a lot so I gave up.  Having a pile of wool sitting left over from this project and after yet more advice on Ravelry I found a pattern which looks straightforward and should work for the yarn I have.  My only slight anxiety is that I am used to knitting patterns designed for the wool I am using.  I am assured that I just need to do  tension square and adjust needle sizes and all will be well.  We shall see.  I also suspect that I will decide that I prefer crocheting to knitting.  It is so much easier especially when it goes wrong, no dropped stitches.

I will let you know how the cardigan goes – oh and that yarn is red too.  There seems to be a bit of a theme developing.

Note: Creative Thursday isn’t a meme, it’s just the heading I am using for various non-gardening projects I am doing and posting about – on a Thursday!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Going well! Crochet takes a lot more yarn than knitting – often more rigid. Keep it up!

  2. djdfr says:

    I enjoy both crocheting and knitting. Your bag turned out very nice.

  3. alison rayner says:

    You never cease to amaze me – another lovely creative project in the bag! No pun intended. Look forward to hearing how the cardigan comes along.

  4. bridget says:

    I’d be well pleased if I’d made that…it’s great. Well done you!

  5. Cathy says:

    Well done with the felting, Helen – I have knitted and felted a bag, and as you say it is a bit daunting putting the article in the hot wash but you just have to go for it. You can felt old jumpers etc the same way and then cut them up to make other garments or cushion covers or whatever. You are making the crocheting sound easier than knitting and I wonder whether to have a go myself – haven’t done it for years and my tension used to be all wrong then. Great to be picking up these creative things again, isn’t it? Must be a stage in life, do you think?

  6. Lyn says:

    I do love the colours of your bag, Helen, and the felting has melded them together nicely.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

