My garden this weekend – 19th May 2013

2013_05190033logo

I have been completely immersed in gardening this weekend and its been wonderful.  The sun has shone and now on Sunday evening I have pleasantly achy limbs.

I have been busy planting out plants that were waiting on the patio in the new border.  Tree peony (label lost its waiting so long), Paeonia lectiflora ‘Sarah Bernhardt’, two Ashwood hellebores, Hamamelia xintermedia ‘Aphrodite’, half a dozen dahlias and I also relocated a Cephalaria gigantea which was shoehorned into the old narrow top of the wall border.  I am going to have to keep a careful eye on them and water and feed carefully to help them recover from the trauma.  I still have some chrysanthemums to add as well as lots of annuals to fill gaps.  The other issue is that the small plants that were at the front of the old border are now near the back of the new one.  I am in a dilemma whether to move them now or leave them be and move them in the Autumn which I think might be kinder.

New big border
New big border

As a diversion I also had a meeting at lunchtime about the summer horticultural show at my local club which I am helping with.  I am now stewarding the flower entry judge but apparently I’m not allowed to give hints about my own entries.

Today I went for a little more gentle gardening and spent several hours potting up seedlings, I planted the first hanging basket and completely repotted my pelargoniums.  Instead of just topping up the compost in the pots, I completely emptied the pot and replaced the compost.  Its been a few years since they were originally potted up so I thought this would do them good plus I could  use the old compost on the new border.  The pelargoniums have been put out along the gravel steps and on the top of the wall.  My son, on returning for a weekend away, said he thought quite Mediterranean – well the sun was shining for a change.

2013_05190035logo

The bare path at the top of the steps is the workshop site which is changing rapidly – it’s quite scary.

Finally this afternoon I treated myself to an excursion to the far side of Herefordshire, just over an hour away, to visit Hergest Croft.  I have had a desire to see rhododendrons for a few weeks, they take me back to my childhood, and I knew that Hergest Croft had a collection.  My trip was very worthwhile but I will save that for another post.

Finally I will finish with a photograph of the bog garden which has thrived on the cooler and damper conditions that we have had so far this year.  It’s all very lush and the Rheum (or maybe its a Rodgersia) seems to be getting out of hand and popping up everywhere so I may have to edit that at some point.

2013_05190041logo

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks like Rodgersia podophylla, a nice plant – goes bezerk in damper, shadier areas – I personally like the foliage of r. purdomii and r. aescufolia.

  2. Hergest croft is a lovely place, one of my favourite gardens – the range of unusual trees, such as Maple and Birch is just incredible.

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Blackmore
      I havent been to Hergest for a few years – this was my 2nd visit. There were lots of ferns as well all unfurling and looking wonderful and the rhodos were completely magical

  3. Cathy says:

    What an exciting time of year it is in our gardens and the ones we visit too! Your steps look as if they hacve been there ages, don’t they? I would move things now if it was me Helen, as it will give them all this season to re-establish – go for it! – and help your new scheme to come together sooner. Look forward to the post on Hergest Ridge – I only know that as an album from a 70s band but can’t remember who! (was it Mike Oldfield?)

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Cathy
      I think you are right about moving things. Will depend on time though as we are away on holiday soon.

  4. kininvie says:

    Yes, it’s a Rodgersia, and you need to move it rapidly, because it simply demands space, and will crowd out that nice ligularia behind it (is that ‘Desdemona’?)

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Kininvie
      Its Ligularia britt marie crawford which is looking better than it has ever done – I created a bog garden two years ago and it seems to have helped it. I will edit the Rodgersia

  5. Pauline says:

    Hergest Croft is a lovely garden or it was the last time we visited many years ago!. Your steps are looking well established already and the pots look good on them. Yes, your plant is a Rodgersia and they do spread rather a lot, with all the rain last year mine has spread a long way under one of my shrubs, a bit of digging to do !!

  6. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Looking lush and lovely – I have moved about 5 carloads of mainly bromilliards, hostas – dieing off for winter- helebores and special clivias to new home around corner from daughters. Found loving homess for most of my lovely hydrangeas. Looked at photos of my cottage garden and very sad but now a more tropical one for how long? the plants I have taken around here are mostly not too much trouble over summer as Cherry very busy with guests in B&B when I have to get out! I MUST enjoy while I can and accept that I will be a gypsy again over summer and be back here March – still scary tho’! Another lovely sunny blue day with no wind. Autumn at its best!

  7. It’s fun to plant up a new border, especially since you’ve been planning for awhile. I have a ‘Sarah Bernhardt’ peony and I really love the big flowers packed with pink petals. There’s lots of dramatic foliage in your last photo.

  8. Oh, those tulips are outstanding. I love the mix of colors.

  9. Beautiful tulips! The garden is really taking shape!

  10. Helen I adore the tulips in your header…..your path is amazing and the pots give it a great look…

  11. Today I went for a little more gentle gardening and spent several hours potting up seedlings, I planted the first hanging basket and completely repotted my pelargoniums. Instead of just topping up the compost in the pots, I completely emptied the pot and replaced the compost. Its been a few years since they were originally potted up so I thought this would do them good plus I could use the old compost on the new border. The pelargoniums have been put out along the gravel steps and on the top of the wall. My son, on returning for a weekend away, said he thought quite Mediterranean – well the sun was shining for a change.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

