Snails have a use after all

2013_06190012logo

I think this is a case of upcycling.  I spotted the idea on a shoot of a garden in France on the recent BBC series on French Gardens and pinched it.

I am frequently coming across snail shells in the garden and I think they look much more natural than the various plastic or wooden things you can buy to stop you poking your eye out on a cane.  My son isn’t so keen as he thinks it looks like the snail has been impaled on the cane but then again he doesn’t have the upset of seeing snails munching your seedlings.

 

21 Comments Add yours

  1. I like the impaled snails. Serves as a warning to the other snails.

  2. What an excellent idea!

  3. Jane Scorer says:

    So, snails do have a use after all …

  4. Cathy says:

    Very artistic! Don’t suppose the snails will agree!

  5. great idea ! thanks !

  6. Annette says:

    I do the same with tropical shells in my garden, looks lovely…but there must be some other use snails are having ;)…can’t think of it right now

  7. wifemothergardener says:

    Nice idea! More natural than the alternatives 🙂

  8. Janneke says:

    Very good idea, from now on I go to collect the snail shells in my garden to have a stock when necessary.

  9. kininvie says:

    I agree with your son…..there’s something faintly macabre about this!

  10. Anna says:

    Have done this at the allotment to deter marauding molluscs but it doesn’t do the trick. I’ve also occasionally forgotten that I have put them there!

  11. Pauline says:

    Such a good idea if you can find any empty ones!

  12. Julie says:

    I like the look of these, the snail shells are beautiful..once vacated!

  13. Your idea would also work well on a piece of pipe to use as a hose guide.

  14. VP says:

    We get so many in the garden, I use them as a plant pot mulch as well. My niece always goes on an empty snail shell hunt for me when she comes to stay 🙂

  15. I like very much *Brigid 🙂

  16. Love this natural look.

  17. I think it’s BRILLIANT.

  18. Jane Powers says:

    I’ve been doing this for a few years too. Snail shells are so obviously made for making bamboo canes safe! It surprises me that more of us didn’t think of it before.

  19. I love it!! Brilliant idea for those pesky snails and their shells.

  20. Rob says:

    Great idea. I shall be borrowing it…

  21. Calvin Kent says:

    I try this some days ago.Brilliant idea for those pesky snails and their shells.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

