2013_07140034logo

I haven’t done a Garden Bloggers Bloom Day post this year but I thought I would combine one for July with this week’s weekend post – if you see what I mean.

The garden is very dry at the moment.  We haven’t had any real rain for weeks now and you can tell. The plants that are struggling the most are perennials planted out in late April/May when it was quite damp but obviously they haven’t had much of a chance to put down their roots and establish.  It is interesting to see how much better the annuals are doing in this regard but then I suppose that demonstrates the differences between annuals and perennials.  Bits of the garden are looking great, such as the rose, Anthemis ‘Sauce Hollandaise’ and Delphinium combination above, whilst other areas are struggling and there are large gaps appearing.  The gaps are from where early spring flowers have finished and have today been cut down but the plants that are meant to come on to replace them haven’t put on much growth; possibly due to the border in this area being overcrowded and too much competition for moisture.  This is going to be addressed as part of the Autumn project.

2013_07140035logoThe Delphinium have done well this year although some of the flower heads have been quite dumpy.  Again I think overcrowding is partly responsible plus a lack of water.  I don’t tend to water the garden apart from when I first plant new plants out but I am having to water the whole garden once or twice a week at the moment and I suspect I could water more but I am currently working on the basis of a really good soaking is better than a quite splash.2013_07140031logo

There has been a lot of thinking going on here at Patient Gardener headquarters.  I came home from San Francisco not only with specific ideas but also with a more open mind to what you can do with colours and using plants and ornamentation.  I also want to develop and explore the world of alpines more.  The current planned big project for the Autumn is to convert what is left of the slope into a rock/scree garden.  The asters and other daisies will be redistributed around the garden.  Possibly into the Big Border to provide interest after the delphs finish and the Big Border needs sorting to bring the old and new border together and to thin out the plants in the old section.

I have decided to paint the new workshop a very dark brown but I also want to pick out the window frame and the outside edges in a different bright colour and every time I think about it orange or terracotta is what I see – although I don’t know what I will use to do this.  I think this is really prompted by the Achillea that is growing to one side of the shed.  The flowers open a very pale buttery orange and then get darker and brighter.  Painting the shed dark brown will show them off better and picking up the colour as a highlight will tie them together.  I can extend this by having pots of orange flowering bulbs etc at other times of the year.

2013_07140037

2013_07140019logoThe back of the Big Border, the newer bit, is hotting up with the Dahlias starting to flower.  The orange one below is a Bishop Children’s seedling from last year and I  love the colour.  The pink one (below) is new this year and is Dahlia Juliet from Sarah Raven.  It is smothered in flowers and really makes up for the rubbish non-existent dahlias I had last year.

The Digitalis is going over but has been sumptuous with its creamy flowers providing a wonderful contrast to the Cotinus.  I think they are perennial ones so I am really hoping they will be back next year.  There are annual poppies popping up here and there but the flowers have on the whole been quite small which is disappointing.  2013_07140026logoI am rather chuffed that I planted Geranium Victor Reiter (below) in front of the dahlias as its pink flowers are really picking up the colours of the tender perennials.

2013_07140022logo

There are lots of flowers going over but there are also signs of the late summer crew beginning to set flower so hopefully next week the colours will be brighter and more exciting.

For more Garden Blogger Bloom Day posts visit Carol’s blog May Dreams Gardens

