The First Throw – Quarter Way

2013_09140039

I have reached a point of demotivation with the Throw.  I think I really need to do some small projects to give myself a break but while I ponder on what these might be I decided to use my evening yesterday to darn in all those ends of threads.  It has taken me hours and that was only for 44 squares.  I must try to remember to do them as I go.

2013_09140037

Yes that’s right 44 squares out of 120 so still a long way to.

I am following instructions in Art of Crochet and I have now decided to cancel my subscription as I have subsequently found lots of inspiration on Pinterest, Facebook and a number of magazines.  The projects in Art of Crochet are getting very repetitive.  It seems that all a beginner can hope to crochet is a scarf and I have already done two of those or a simple bag – again done.  I don’t feel confident enough to do shaping so have been avoiding jumpers etc but wandering around Pinterest has made me very interested in crochet flowers and I think I could have a go at those.  I also really like the Afghan rugs and also the rugs made up of granny squares with the raised flowers in the middle but I need to finish the first Throw before I start another one.

Having darned all the ends in, the next stage with these squares is to block them and the internet advice implies that I need to do this with steam on the ironing board, leaving them to ‘set’ overnight.  In the meantime, I am feeling a little more motivated and as the instructions for the throw sets out a clear pattern for sowing the squares together I have decided to start in the middle and work my way out so if I run out of wool (provided with the magazine) I won’t have a misshapen rung, just a small one.

2013_09140040

The thing that I am pondering at the moment is though – is there anything I could do useful with all those ends of thread I have cut off?  It seems such a waste when you see them all piled up together.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. pinterestgirl95 says:

    It is going to look so beautiful when it’s finished! 🙂 I hope I will be able to see the finished product. And I know what you can do with the yarn scraps, too – keep them in a bag or whatever until spring, and then buy a bird suet cage (the green wire cages usually kept in the gardening center of different stores, and possibly with pet food, too) and fill the cage with yarn and thread scraps. Birds will use them to help make their nests 😀 I found the idea in a gardening/birding magazine. Good luck with your throw! xx

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Maggie
      Thank you for your comment. I like you idea of using the scraps, could make for some interesting nests around the garden!

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

