Wordless Wednesday 6/11/13 – Iris foetidissima

Iris foetidissima
Iris foetidissima
11 Comments Add yours

  1. ginnytalbert says:

    How beautiful and bright these seeds are!

    1. ginnytalbert says:

      PS – would you like to trade some seeds? I’d love to try this iris of yours.!

    2. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Ginny
      They are gorgeous and its amazing as the flowers are so insignificant that I always miss them but then you have these amazing bright berries

    3. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Ginny

      Thats an interesting idea – will have to look at how you save the seeds as they are in berries and this is beyond my seed saving experience.

    4. ginnytalbert says:

      Helen, they look a lot like the seed pods from blackberry lilies. Just let them start to shrivel in the pods. I’d let them dry at room temp till they are dried out. In the spring, I’d throw them into a baggie full of moist dirt til they sprout, then move them into pots til they grow up a bit, then out into the garden. That’s assuming that treating them like blackberry lily seeds would work… gardening is always an experiment for me, how about you?

  2. Cathy says:

    Lovely picture, Helen. How established is your plant? I’ve had mine for ages (about 10 years) but I think it has only ever had one flower spike (which like you I invariably miss) at a time

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Cathy
      I think it has been in the garden at least 6 years, it just appeared one year so has probably grown from seed brought in by a bird

  3. Alison says:

    Orange is always delightful.

  4. rogerbrook says:

    Yes it probably arrived with a bird and germination was helped passing through the gut of the bird.
    I would just squeeze out the berries and sow them now in a pot and leave it to get the winter cold ..and perhaps rain to wash out any possible inhibitors from the berry.
    This might not be as good as the bird but I expect it will germinate next year… or the year after!
    I love the beautiful berries and it has sown itself in my garden too.

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Thank you Roger for the advice, not sure if I want anymore plants though

  5. Sonnja says:

    Lovely photo, Helen!
    Greetings, RW & SK

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

