Monthly Post for Hardy Plant Society

This year I will be writing a monthly post for the Hardy Plant Society on my Plant of the Month.

January’s post is up here and it is on Christmas Box. Now to write February’s

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Anna says:

    Oh will look at the HPS website later Helen and have a read. I imagine that as the year progresses choosing which plant to write about will become a real dilemma.

  2. Cathy says:

    An interesting article Helen – good to read those facts about what is, as you say, a not always readily available plant. Will you be contributing every month this year?

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Cathy
      Yes I have committed to doing one a month for the whole of 2014, I may regret it!

  3. Interesting article Helen and really useful tips about it getting leggy and the need to prune. Funnily enough I planted my first Sarcococca, confusa, in my shady border a couple of weeks ago, and just yesterday picked up Sarcococca hookeriana var. digyna ‘Purple Stem’. Their fragrance is amazing and makes venturing into the garden in winter a sweet treat. This plant should be better used in gardens – hope your article encourages people.

    Great you are doing this for HPS. Hard work, but we (well, this reader) appreciates it.

  4. Anna says:

    I read your well written and researched HPS article last night Helen and would have commented over there but there does not seem to be the facility to do so. I think that your plant is Sarcococca confusa . I’ve got both confusa and hookeriana and the leaves of the former are more deep green,rounder and more glossy to my eye. I picked up both my plants from a local garden centre but have a feeling that they are probably only in stock when they are in flower so the window to purchase them is brief.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

