Little Malvern Court NGS Opening

2014_03160004

Last weekend I went to my first NGS opening of the year at Little Malvern Court.  I was particularly keen to go to this one as I know the Head Gardener who is fairly new to the post and I think it was his first opening.  Two weeks before he had been worried that the grass wouldn’t dry out enough to be cut; however, as you can see the weather in recent weeks had allowed him to make sure all was shipshape.

2014_03160025

I have to say that writing this post is somewhat bittersweet to me since I am ashamed to say that I had forgotten it was my late sister’s birthday on the day I went to the opening and only realised my oversight last night.  I have spent the day feeling awful as though I have betrayed her memory but some stern and forgiving words from my mother and a few tears has put me on the road to feeling a bit better.  I certainly won’t forget it next year.

2014_03160011

Little Malvern Court was originally a 14th century Priors Hall and you can still see the original tower of a 12th century Benedictine Priory.  The grounds cover 10 acres and are dominated by a series of three pools with interconnecting cascades running down the slope of the property.  At this time of year there are large planting of bulbs primarily narcissus although it would appear I was too distracted by the topiary and shadows to take any photos of these!

2014_03160043

2014_03160035I visited this garden some years ago and I can’t say I was struck by the amount of clipped hedging then but this visit it  was quite obvious.  My previous visit had been in the summer so maybe I was distracted by flowers or maybe it was the people I was visiting with.  Anyway, as you can see not only are there many hedges but also buttresses of yew which create interesting viewpoints – obscuring and blocking the view.

Near the house the garden is more formal with  rose gardens set amongst box edging. I have to say not only was the standard and amount of hedging cutting impressive but also the standard of the pruning of the roses and training of climbers on pergola and trellis.  I spent a pleasant time sitting on a quite bench listening to gentlemen of a certain age discussing the quality of the pruning and training – there was much admiration!

2014_03160020

I have said the main flower colour was from spring bulbs and I was particularly taken with this planting of anemone nemorosa and celandine.

2014_03160037

2014_03160038

So pretty and a combination I might try to copy.  A planting I won’t be able to copy is this planting of magnolia which were just about to break into flower.

2014_03160006

Although my photographs imply that the garden was virtually empty of visitors this certainly was not the case.  I arrived about 10 minutes after opening and the first car park was already full and the overflow car park in use.  By the time I came to leave the queue for the teas and cake was some 20 people long and the car park probably had around 100 cars in it.  I suspect that fact that this was one of the first local garden openings of the year contributed to the success as well as the unusually warm weather but I also think it is a wonderful romantic setting.

2014_03160048

Maybe next year I will return and bring my mother and my niece to mark my late sister’s birthday – I  think they would appreciate it.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Diana Studer says:

    it’s not the same, not remotely. But my niece who was our bridesmaid phoned one year to wish us happy anniversary – and my husband and I had BOTH forgotten.

  2. Beautiful photos and post, Helen.

    Don’t beat yourself up over forgetting your sister’s birthday, perhaps she’d be so pleased you had such a lovely day on her birthday xxx

  3. G Smith says:

    I agree with the comments above Helen. It is easy to overlook an anniversary when time has passed. It doesn’t mean that you don’t care. I have done it myself on more than one occasion.

  4. Tim says:

    I would seriously reconsider any thoughts of introducing celandine, even the “cultivated” varieties, if I were you. I can speak from experience. It is very invasive and impossible to control or remove, and unsuitable in all but the wildest “gardens”.

  5. Pauline says:

    I think repeating your visit next year with your Mum and niece is a lovely idea, I’m sure they would love it. Spring has certainly arrived and the garden visiting season has started, it was frustrating missing out on snowdrop visiting because of all the rain in February, lots of catching up to do!

  6. bittster says:

    Beautiful photos, beautiful setting, and the quality of the pruning is immaculate! Interesting how the celandine grows with such restraint, over here it is a rampant (although pretty) weed and would overwhelm any interplanted anemones or bulbs.
    Actions speak louder than words, and the depth of your emotions says more for the memory of your sister than any forgotten calendar notation. Best wishes!

  7. What lovely weather to visit. The photos are gorgeous. Love the positioning of the house and the way the garden slopes away.

  8. Cathy says:

    I have seen this mentioned recently for the first time (RHS magazine perhaps?) and thought it might be near enough for a visit – thanks for the preview. And I know you were upset, but you don’t have to think about your sister every day for her to know that you love her. That love lives on regardless…

  9. Aga says:

    It is a great idea for a day trip, and I don’t live far from Malvern!

  10. What fabulous structure. In our family we have always been very bad at remembering birthdays and sending cards and knowing it is mothers day. Nevertheless we have loved deeply and well, as I am sure you did.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

