The June Border

2014_06150071

It’s nearly the longest day of the year and I finally have my camera back after a month at the repairers so I have spent some time this evening photographing the Cottage and Big Borders.

2014_06150049

For the first year since we have lived here I am thrilled with how these parts of the garden are looking.  The images in my head are finally beginning to appear in reality.

2014_06150066 2014_06150068 2014_06150069

Many of the plants are supporting each other but there are one or two that I need to stake next year to improve their appearance.  I must write-up some notes in the garden diary to remind myself next spring.

2014_06150073 2014_06150076

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Anna says:

    Beautiful delphiniums Helen – such glorious shades of blue. Glad to read that you feel that the ideas you had in your head are now materialising. Great news about your camera too.

  2. Yvonne Ryan says:

    So different from my present garden which doesn’t vary much through the year with its tropical plants and palms, cycads, bromilliards etc. My last garden was more seasonal and cottage and was looking at photos other day and was quite sad!

  3. rusty duck says:

    All that rain has done it the power of good and all your hard work has paid off. I love the deep blue of the delphiniums.

  4. bushbernie says:

    Outstanding! I can understand why you’re so pleased with the fruits of your labour. Your photos show a fabulous looking garden.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Your camera is working quite well – gorgeous pictures!

  6. Pauline says:

    Hasn’t everything grown! It must be all the rain we had, your garden is looking so lush and happy. Your delphiniums are the star of the borders, such a beautiful blue!

  7. Your garden looks splendid! I love your delphiniums. I wish I could grow them but it’s too humid here. Enjoy your lovely garden this summer.

  8. Clive Crawford says:

    How do you keep the slugs off the Delphiniums ? Very jealous-making !
    Clive

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Dear Clive
      I apply slug pellets from around 14th February as soon as there is the slightest sign of growth. I beleive that this kills the small slugs that live in the soil as they do the most damage. I know others who have wonderful delphiniums who build a ring of thick gravel around the plants in the winter and again this seems tohelp. I find that once the plants have put on good growth i do not need to protect them from slug again as they are strong enough to withstand any nibbles

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

