Wordless Wednesday 3/2/15 – Iris histrioides ‘Lady Beatrix Stranley’

2015_01270001cropped

13 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve got a terracotta bowl of this gorgeous iris sitting in my greenhouse…..can’t wait for her buds to open.

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Sue
      This is a recent acquisition and I have brought it indoors so I can enjoy its flowers. I have to say I am surprised at how long the flowers have stayed open in the warm house

  2. Julie says:

    Beautiful. I saw this one last year at one of the RHS shows and noticed a lovely scent when I was trying to photograph it, your greenhouse must smell wonderful!

  3. Cathy says:

    Almost silk like in their perfection – so pretty

  4. mossfighter says:

    Amazing how much colour and beauty can be in one small pot in early February.

  5. I love these flowers and wait for them every spring….how wonderful to see them now as mine will not be showing up for another 8 weeks.

  6. Anna says:

    A beauty. Beatrix must have been a most special woman to have both an iris and a snowdrop named after her.

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Anna
      I believe she went in plant hunting trips with EA Bowles

  7. Cathy says:

    One of the best, Helen. Thanks for the lovely picture!

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

