Fruits of my labour

2015_04040002

I have finally painted the shed.  As I said in my End of Month post I have been dithering about what colour to paint it for a year or more.  The first plan was black with orange accents but as time progressed I realised that this would make the shed stand out like a sore thumb, not really what I wanted.  I then settled on a green with paler green accents.  Then when I was writing the post and looking at the photos I decided that actually I quite liked the colour the shed was.

2015_04040003

The majority of readers also agreed that the natural colour worked well in my garden.  So I opted for a clear preservative with a willow accent just to give it a little character.  I am incredibly pleased with it.  It looks smart but also a little bit individual and the clear preservative has enhanced the natural silvering of the wood.  Apart from part of the side of the shed (above) where I had wiped out my brushes from staining the fence last year with a view to doing the shed the same colour but it’s not that obvious when you are in the garden.  We have agreed that the bench and step risers will stay the same colour as they currently are.  The willow ties in with the back door to the house which I like.

2015_04040004

Next up I have commissioned my eldest to make me some better supports for the step over apples rather than my Heath Robinson bamboo cane and string contraption.  The new supports will be painted willow and if I am lucky he is going to turn some finials to go on top of the posts which should look rather smart.  Then I might suggest an obelisk but I will keep quiet on that idea for a while as he is a busy chap.

 

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Really like the colour combination –

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Many thanks

  2. Gail says:

    The apple support sounds delightful with the special turned finials! Love the shed; you made a good choice.

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Gail
      Many thanks. Son reckons he can make the supports with left over wood so it shouldn’t cost anything

  3. Ann says:

    That looks really good Helen so glad you didn’t go for black and orange

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Ann
      So am I, looked fab in bright light of San Francisco

  4. Brian Skeys says:

    Congratulations on the shed Helen. It looks good with the willow accents and will tie in wonderfully with the step-over supports when they are in place. I think ‘step-overs’ are a great way to grow fruit.

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Brian
      The step overs are 3 or 4 years old. I have trained them from whips, actually had a couple of apples last year. Am rather chuffed with them

  5. alison says:

    It looks fantastic! Very stylish and yet understated i.e. blends beautifully with the garden.

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Thank you Alison, I like understated elegance

  6. Pam says:

    Hi Helen,
    Lovely shed. I”ve just painted my new shed ( birthday present ) Cuprinol shades ‘wild thyme’. It’s so subtle, it blends in so well.
    The silvery shades of the natural wood of your shed need no enhancement.

  7. bittster says:

    Looks great! Your patience and thought paid off 🙂

  8. jenhumm116 says:

    Just lovely! I’m glad you,didn’t go bold, it looks very settled in its surroundings.

  9. Robert Surface says:

    I like a nice weathered look.

  10. rusty duck says:

    That is a good choice. I love the willow. You’ve got me thinking now…

  11. Great choice. And the shed and bench give your garden such a lived-in feel. I love it.

  12. Always pay attention to Mother Nature. She picks the best colours. It looks beautiful. Natural and serene just like it belongs.

  13. Yvonne Ryan says:

    Great choice in the softer light of the Malverns! When painters come to NZ, Aussie, or Pacific Islands they find our light so bright and their paintings are much stronger colour than when Britain. Sometimes when I pick up students from the Airport they rant on even before they get out of the building “Oh the sky is so blue!!”

  14. Anna says:

    Oh those colours are most natural and so pleasing to the eye Helen. Job well done. I hope that your sons now know why you had to mull over your choice for some time 🙂

  15. Looks fab Helen, works really well with your garden, and somehow now helps pull everything together even more. And with smart step-over apple supports too, you’ll have to go in the yellow soon!

  16. Yes, the accents just make it seem a little crisper without going over the top. I look forward to seeing the new supports, although I must admit to a weakness for Heath Robinson contraptions!

  17. Chloris says:

    Oh well done, it looks great! It was worth all the deliberation to get it just right. You’ ve inspired me to do something with my summerhouse now. It is painted white and I think it looks horrible. I love the natural wood look of your shed.

  18. Pauline says:

    The shed looks very smart with its details picked out, congratulations!

  19. hillwards says:

    Very smart, a good solution! Xx

  20. Good combination. It looks great.

  21. Diana Studer says:

    yes, lovely colours!

  22. Good looking shed youve got there. Blends in well.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

