In A Vase on Monday – Blue Spires

2015_05030001

Given the wonderful display of camassias I have in the garden this year I thought I should feature some in a Vase on Monday post.  Following on from Christina’s idea I decided to add some blue pebbles in the bottom of the vase to help keep the stems upright.  I wanted to add variegated hosta but also added some geranium palmatum leaves to bulk it out.  I am quite pleased with the effect but I’m not sure how well the hosta leaves will last as one has already, in only a matter of hours, drooped.  Not having any flower arranging experience or knowledge my approach is to give things a go and see what happens.

Last week’s vase which featured violas and other small spring delights taught me that I need to pick the flowers as they are opening as the violas only lasted a matter of days.  That requires a bit more thought and planning so is unlikely to happen!  I also have learnt that the flowers from my garden probably won’t last as long as a bunch bought from the shops which I presume are treated in such a way to help keep them fresh for longer.  But I am enjoying this meme and thinking about what I can include each week, it is making me look at the plants slightly differently and it is nice to enjoy the flowers inside as well as in the garden.

Thank you to Cathy for hosting this weekly meme – you can find links to more Monday vases over at hers if you look in the comment box.

 

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Kris P says:

    Very pretty! I can’t grow either hostas or camassia so the arrangement is exotic to my eyes.

  2. Christina says:

    I can’t grow Camassia either so love seeing it in your vase. In theory flowers from your garden should last longer than shop-bought as they are fresher. I think conditioning flowers before arranging plays a huge role in how long they last in a vase and also what time of day you pick the flowers. I do try to pick early morning and stand them in water for a few hours but of course that isn’t every time as it depends how much time I have.

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Christina
      Thanks for the advice, will try harder to be organised enough to pick in morning and stand for a few hours in water, never done that so worth a go

    2. Diana Studer says:

      or pick them yesterday, stand in a deep bucket of water overnight, then arrange them

  3. Chloris says:

    Very pretty. The hosta and geranium leaves set the camassias off beautifully. I love camassias, I just wish they would last a bit longer in the garden.

  4. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Lovely plant this camassia, I must find out if I can grow it in my garden, thanks for showing it in a beautiful vase, Helen!

  5. Helen that is quite a beautiful vase and arrangement. I too am learning how some flowers don’t last long, but I enjoy it none-the-less and just replace the fading flowers with more.

  6. Anna says:

    A most elegant arrangement Helen. Those blue pebbles really compliment the colour of the camassias as well as serving a practical purpose.

  7. Julie says:

    Your camassia are beautiful – I have never grown them but would like too – are they difficult? Re your wilting flowers, as Christina said it is important to pick early or late in the day and to put your cut stems straight into water. Let the flowers have a long drink in deep water before putting them into an arrangement – recut the stems to make sure they are clear to absorb more water as you put them in their final position. Some garden flowers do not last long whatever you do and that is why they are rarely seen for sale. Others will last far longer than flowers you buy as they are fresher – the more you do this challenge the easier it will become!

  8. Brian Skeys says:

    A lovely simple arrangement Helen, proving that less is more.

  9. Cathy says:

    That looks gorgeous Helen! I wonder if your hosta leaves picked up again? Their leaves look as if they have painted with green splodges, don’t they? It is certainly a learning curve using different flowers and foliage in vases and as Christina says sometimes conditioning is helpful – this could be dipping in boiling water for some things. Wellywoman’s book is quite helpful on whether certain things need conditioning and how best to do it. I have had no success with camassias as yet either – I wonder why they are so choosy?!

  10. Yvone Ryan says:

    Hi Helen – Love the cassia ??? Is it a bulb? Can’t say I have seen it. As autumn bulb planting here may have to look for some!!! Mushroom lover: Discovered a whole lot of Saffron Milk Cap mushrooms in the mulch where we have planted the ‘Bird Bush” Hunted thru’ Google to see what was edible in NZ and apparently grows under pine trees and becoming a crop here. The mulch probably has pine in it. I cooked some up in a little butter a delicious. Am alive this morning to tell the tale so I am going to collect and cook down and freeze. Must be 2/3 buckets of them!! YUM! They have salmony tops and brown/pink gills. A week ago I had a big feed of field mushrooms off our lawn.

  11. Nice looking arrangement!

  12. Gorgeous ! Such a lovely sculptural design .

  13. Amy says:

    A lovely combination, Helen!

  14. That works really well – the hosta leaves make a great contrast with the spiky flowers!

  15. Chris says:

    Helen, this is just beautiful.

  16. rickii says:

    Camassia is a native growing wild in these parts, but all of my efforts to introduce it here have been in vain. Makes me appreciate your lovely vase all the more.

  17. Clive Crawford says:

    I also have camassias in my garden here in Amsterdam but yours are flowering MUCH earlier ! Which variety are they ?
    Clive

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Clive
      I have had them for a few years now, I think they are Camassia leichtlinii

  18. That arrangement looks super smart. Your Camissia are looking great and I wonder how hard they are to grow in the garden? Any tips?

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

