Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – June 2015

IMG_0226

The colour theme for June seems to be very much purples and pinks with the odd splash of red and white, such as the Potentilla album above.  I have been more conscious in choosing plants that are within a colour palette to try to bring some cohesion to my garden.

IMG_0207

The roses are starting to flower.  This one is looking the best it has ever looked and is smothered in flowers.  I think it might be Rosa ‘Lucky’ but for the life of me I can’t remember where I bought it from or when. I deliberately didn’t prune my roses hard this year as I wanted them to be taller to add height to the border and with the exception of one which for some reason hasn’t produce any flowering stems it seems to have worked well.

Rosa Ophelia
Rosa Ophelia

The second one to flower is Ophelia which is a fuller flower and prone to being damaged when it rains or there is a strong wind.  It is beautiful and the scent is heavenly but I think I prefer the form of the top rose more.

IMG_0223

New to me this year is Cerinthe retorta which I have really fallen in love with.  I much prefer it to the normal Cerinthe major especially the white inner flowers.  I will definitely be collecting seed from these.

IMG_0215

My favourite Astrantia, again I seem to have lost the label, but the colour is just stunning.  It is bulking up slowly now so maybe next year I will be able to divide it.

IMG_0227

One of my many alliums – I get confused which is which but I do like the shape of the flowers on this variety as they open and I really need to add more to the garden.

IMG_0204

Iris louisiana which I adore.  It was new last year and I was completely bewitched but its iridescent blue flowers.  It lives in the damp corner of my patio which often floods and seems to enjoy the moisture.

IMG_0212

I am pretty certain this is Geum Totally Tangerine; a really good plant which has been flowering already for around 6 weeks and adds a sparkle of colour to the predominantly green foliage in the woodland border.

So these are my favourite flowers this month, the stars of the show.  For more Garden Bloggers Bloom Day posts pop over to Carol’s at May Dreams.

 

20 Comments Add yours

  1. I like your roses Helen and that iris is lovely, a nice collection of blooms, I know what you mean about coordinating colour, I have a hotch potch due to plants given to me which I am grateful for but I did end up with a lot of pink, not my favourite colour, so I have been trying to move the pinks to certain areas of the garden and buying more plants in my favourite colours of blues, mauves and purples, I’m getting there but slowly, I like purple with pinks and have added some purple and mauves to the pink areas, do your roses have a perfume? Frances

  2. Andrew says:

    I am growing the geum as well. It wasn’t happy last year so I moved it in the autumn and now it’s flowering non-stop. Sometimes the plants let us know who is really in charge of the garden!

  3. Linda B. says:

    I moved many things around last year and am waiting for some to bloom to see if I have a hodgepodge or an actual working design! It does take time to get it the way you picture it in your mind.

  4. Those alliums do add a sort of fragile sparkle that contrasts with some of the fuller flowers!

  5. johnvic8 says:

    The allium is Star of Persia, one of my favorites.

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi John
      Thanks but I have never bought star of Persia so I don’t think it’s that one

  6. Chloris says:

    What a fabulous Iris and I love the Geum. Don’ t you think the roses are exceptionally good this year? I have Ophelia too, she is such a delicate colour.

  7. I think your Astrantia is Abbey Road. I just bought one this spring. I’m fascinated with the color and structure. So beautiful!

  8. I enjoyed your allium (sorry I couldn’t identify it). Mine bloomed midway between bloom days, alas. They’ve become one of my favorite flowers. I even use my blooming chive flowers in arrangements.

  9. Just found Patient Gardener today and am delighted with what I see! So helpful that you use botanical names whenever possible, and that your observations are both precise and engaging. (I, too, have been a higher ed administrator — recently retired. Am thinking that precision and humor are the keys to survival in that field as well as in the garden!) I look forward to scrolling through many a page here as we work to revive my mother’s garden in the Pacific Northwest of the U.S. We are now her caregivers, and are the grateful beneficiaries of her years of labor.

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Brenda
      Welcome, glad you found your way here. I think botanical names are important as we use different names on different sides of the Atlantic so we need to know what we are talking about

  10. Cathy says:

    Lovely flowers/photographs, Helen. That astrantia is superb, will come back and see if anyone else confirms ‘Abbey Road’. And I agree about the Cerinthe – such an interesting combination of colours.

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Cathy
      I’m not sure about Abbey Road, it doesnt ring a bell in this context, however I used to live in an Abbey Road so this might have prompted me to buy a plant called this. I will have a rummage in my plant label box and see what comes up.
      The cerinthe is looking even better as the opium poppies have opened by it and they are the same purple, pure luck, and the ammi majus has just started to pick up o the white – I could have planned it but I didnt!

  11. Gina says:

    Love the flowers. I would love to grow Cerinthe as it’s one of my favourite plants. Unfortunately it’s one of my dog ‘s aswell and he eats it. It’s the only plant that he even looks at for some reason

  12. I grew that geum last year. I do love the shade. So pretty. I think I found it locally at a hardware store. You just never know what you’ll find and where do you? Happy Bloom Day Helene. I love seeing your roses, and that Cerinthe is glorious.~~Dee

  13. Linnae says:

    Your astrantia is lovely! Thanks for sharing. Happy Bloom Day!

  14. rusty duck says:

    It certainly looks like Geum Totally Tangerine. Is it tall?

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi Jessica
      Tallish, I am 99% certain it is as I seem to remember buying it from Hardys when they gave a talk at our local club

  15. Graham Rice says:

    Great to see your enthusiasm for Cerinthe retorta. I love it too. Can you please email me about it? And have you seen this one? – http://www.plant-world-seeds.com/store/view_seed_item/5284

    1. Helen Johnstone says:

      Hi graham
      No I hadn’t seen that one, thanks. Will email you

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

