Pandora’s Box Completed

IMG_5315 1

 

Whilst I am finding it challenging to write about the garden, just because I don’t have anything new to say, I am feeling very enthused about sewing so I wanted to share the project I finished late last night.

It’s called Pandora’s Box and the pattern is available free online from Blackwork Journey.  Why I loved this project is that it is broken down into 8 sections and Elizabeth, the lady behind it, published a section on the 1st of each month so you have plenty of time to complete four blocks.  Each section includes some pulled thread work, blackwork (although mine is red) and some Assisi, which is cross-stitch with edging and finally some cross-stitch.  It is easy, even for someone with little experience as me, to complete a block (square) in an evening and as you work through the project your confidence in these techniques grows.

The other wonderful thing about this project is that it is accompanied by a Facebook Group, which currently has 680 members from across the world.  As the project started there was a lot of discussion about fabric and threads, then as we completed a couple of sections we started to show our progress which prompted more discussion on colour choices.  Through the FB group is you couldn’t understand one of the instructions, although Elizabeth writes them so well and they are very clearly articulated in diagrams, you could ask for advice and within an hour or so you would have a response.

I am thrilled with the finished piece of work, I think it is the most satisfying thing I have stitched for a very long time.  I am planning on having it framed and I think it will go in the living room which has recently been redecorated with a red highlights in tartan curtains – trust me they look wonderful!

Elizabeth is now working on another project which she will start to publish later in the year, from memory I think it is November.

Note: if you are interested in following this project you need to look at the Freebies section on the Blackwork Journey website.

13 thoughts on “Pandora’s Box Completed

  1. Looka great. We had a marvellous embroidery exhibition last year and some amazing pieces. didn’t tempt me to learn more. Prefer my knitting and to get back to painting rather than a new skill. Some amazing sort of sculptural ones and traditional. Hundreds came to see it from as far away as Taranaki and Northland!

    • Hi Yvonne
      I subscribe to an Australian embroidery magazine which is better than anything I can get here in the UK, it seems to be more of a popular craft in the Southern Hemisphere than here

  2. What a fabulous project and result! Well done. It looks absolutely lovely. And I adore the way it was set up with monthly projects and the Facebook group. That is truly inspiring. Thanks for sharing.

  3. It looks just gorgeous Helen – and I was encouraged by your description of how you were ‘led’ through the process without feeling it was too big at any stage. I really enjoy cross stitch and will immediately look at the Black Work link you’ve provided. Thanks!

  4. “Pandora’s Box” looks beautiful Helen. When I first saw it I wondered what you were intending for its presentation. It will look lovely framed. I agree with the comment re Facebook – just like being part of an embroidery circle. Enjoy your creation.

  5. Your work is really beautiful! I haven’t done that type of stitching in years. Thanks for sharing.

  6. The end result looks great – not surprising that you are thrilled! And the the whole concept with the monthly sections and the Facebook group sounds so supportive

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

