End of Month View June 2016 – Hugh’s Border

IMG_5888

A quick End of Month post from me as to be honest I had lost track of where we are in the month.  The garden is at its most full and even more so given the amount of rain we have had over the last few weeks.  Hugh’s border is looking fuller than ever, and in some places too full.

IMG_5891

The other end of the border which is shadier but not as shady as it used to be due to the neighbours cutting down the trees along the boundary.  This end is the home to some of my earlier fern acquisitions which are now quite substantial, there is also a Paulownia although it is battling with a rogue foxglove growing through the middle of it.  My idea is that the Paulownia will form a leafy canopy over the border but I think that will take a few years.  I spent some time this last weekend digging up Pulmonaria which grew along the edge of the steps and had started to self-seed around.  It was great when the border was so shady but had well outgrown its space so I have replaced it with another fern and some more siberian irises which I hope will bring some new textures to this end of the border.

IMG_5893

The front edge of the border which is a lot better than in previous years but at the moment lacking in colour.  There are some foxgloves, crocosmia and a fuschia about the flower so in a week or so it should colour up.  My approach these days is for the foliage first and then the flowers to add colour highlights during the year.  However, I need to work on how I combine the foliage.  I was very impressed with some of the combinations I saw in the gardens last week so there is food for thought on how to improve the planting.

IMG_5894

The back of the border from the bench and you can see this is particularly chaotic and probably too full.  I need to do some editing here and make some decisions about what should stay but I enjoy that side of gardening as it stimulates my creative side.

So that’s a whizz around Hugh’s border before I go to work.  All are welcome to join in with the end of month meme I just ask that you put a link to your post in the comments box below and link to this post in your post so we can all track you down.

28 thoughts on “End of Month View June 2016 – Hugh’s Border

    • Hi Owen
      its one of my tender ferns, I will see if I can find the label when I get home tonight.

  1. I rather like the chaos! But there is a fine line between chaos and overgrown and it’s something I constantly struggle with. I edit to keep from getting overgrown and end up with gaps. It takes real skill to get it right and at the moment it seems to me you have the perfect balance.
    My post will follow, I too have lost track of things this week/month/year!!

  2. Hugh’s Border is definitely coming along a lot better than my own garden! It’s so full and the mixtures of foliage are delightful. And self-sown foxgloves popping up always cheer me up, like how Miss Wilmott used to sneak eryngium seeds into her friends’ borders when they weren’t looking!

    Our own garden is still in total limbo, and much of the veg eaten to bits, but as I’ve managed to get round to writing an EOMV post then here it is:

    https://nextsquaremetre.wordpress.com/2016/06/30/eomv-hope-feels-a-long-way-away-even-though-its-only-fifteen-miles/

    I can only wish I was in the position to be thinking about editing down, rather than tearing my hair out and drumming my fingers!

  3. I adore the full lush greenery of your beds! I miss this type of garden. Here in SoCal, I have to readjust my desires. I have one fern and it’s holding on, but I hardly have any shade to sustain beds like these.

    I’m on a mission to provide shade! Just watching my trees grow and waiting.

  4. I love the fullness and lush growth of June and July, especially with all the rain we have had, your borders look just right to me. I had to look up paulownia as it is new to me – not sure if I got the right variety but the one I found is a tree with beautiful bell shaped white flowers and the tree will mature to 12 metres…..not really for my small garden then!

    Here is the link to my post with the usual end of month video: http://graphicality-uk.blogspot.co.uk/2016/06/eomv-june-2016-from-rainy-london.html

  5. I’m very interested in your approach with foliage first, then flowers as a highlight. I have pretty much done the opposite, but I am finding I need to pay more attention to the foliage, for when all those pretty flowers die off.🙂
    Your garden is looking so beautiful and inviting!

  6. Such a fresh oasis of beautiful foliage – I love a garden that is jam packed fully of lush greenery alongside bouts of bold colour. Very inspirational!

  7. I think the garden looks full, busy and bustling, which in my opinion, is how a garden should look! The more air cleaning greenery, the better! Maybe mine will also look like that one day… I’m working on it! P.S. So happy to have discovered your blog.🙂

  8. This is a beautiful border.The way to deal with the all-year “no dirt” problem is with an underpinning of evergreen and plenty of early bulbs. Then mix your border with some dependable plants with long flowering seasons as well as some star performers. I love a mixture of white lilies, blue geranium, iris foliage, acid-green euphorbia, thistle-like eryngium and lavender.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

