Update on the Front Garden

IMG_6041

Some readers will recall that back at the start of the year I decided to do away with the front lawn. Since then I have been a busy bee and with the help of my sons the transformation is nearly completed.

The pile of bricks isn’t an art installation but the start of the path that we have been working on this weekend.

index

My eldest has been a star and spent the morning digging a trench for the bricks to lay in and he managed to get the bricks for 25p each which has made a huge difference to the cost and allowed us to be more generous in the number used.  The next step is to cement them in place and then to put gravel down on the path.  I intend to use the same gravel as the driveway so it blends together.

From being embarrassed by my front garden I now love it – as my son says it is now a proper garden rather than a small lawn with some plants around it!

12 thoughts on “Update on the Front Garden

  1. That’s smashing, especially being able to get bricks (pre-loved, or as spares?) so cheap. We’re hoping to reuse existing bricks from elsewhere in the garden for one of our retaining walls when we terrace: it’ll hopefully eventually be covered in ferns and pennywort/toadflax, so we don’t even mind if they’re rough-looking.

  2. It is going to be a great success. Although based on my family’s experience, you might want not to cement in the bricks. In the past thirty years my mother has moved the paths in their garden four or five times!

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

