End of Month View – July 2016

IMG_6076Opps sneaking in a day late with the post which is disgraceful as I host the meme but there you go.  Life moves on, you find yourself blogging less and less and losing track of the days and the pattern of posting and the next thing you know you are late like the proverbial White Rabbit.

IMG_6081

Anyway, what is there to say about Hugh’s Border except it is very full and interestingly and is probably faring better than most of the garden given the dry conditions we have had recently.  The only real casualty are the Sensitive Ferns (Onoclea sensibilis) which are looking a little frazzled.  They need moisture even when they are in the shade despite what the reference books say.  I have some in a very damp corner of the garden which look wonderful but the ones in Hugh’s Border despite it not having as good drainage as the rest of the garden give in at this time of year every year and every year I think I really must pull them out.  But I forget and then in the spring the new fronds with their red stems appear showing that they are spreading around and I relent.  “No more” I cry – well mutter.  I am determined not to be hoodwinked into a reprieve and I intend to drastically cull the Sensitive Fern and replace it with some ferns that are  a little more robust and not so touchy about things.

IMG_6079

As for the front of the border the phlox are looking and smelling wonderful and I find myself thinking that as they seem to like these conditions then maybe I should add to them but I need to be very particular about the colour as I don’t want a garish pink and I think the colour palette for phlox is quite limited.  Anyway, a bit of research is needed.

There isn’t much else to say about the border as its one of those areas that just gets on with it and finally has filled out enough to have a bit of interest happening whatever the time of year.

As ever any one can join in the end of month meme just decide on what part of your garden you want to feature or maybe give us a tour of the whole garden.  The instructions are on the tab at the top of the blog.  I look forward to seeing your links in the comment box below and having a mooch over to see what is happening at yours particularly as it is now raining here.

Helen

30 thoughts on “End of Month View – July 2016

    • Hi Jen
      That’s an interesting idea, I will have to see what they look like in black and white

  1. I grow my sensitive fern actually in my pond- so im not surprised it looks a bit frazzled in the border! I have one in a pot that dries out each year and I always think i must put it in a boggy area.

    I like your foxgloves (i think they are) what species are they? Do they come back each year?

    • Hi Owen
      The sensitive fern I have that does well is in a corner that floods. The foxglove are rusty foxgloves, ferritin or something like that and yes they are perennials. Grew them from seed had them for 3 or so years.

      Helen

    • It’s long because the willow in the corner crowded it out and the chap behind keeps chopping bite off so to compensate the tree has grown out over the garden. It is due for a bit of a prune to try to start balancing it better now the willow has been reduced.

  2. The whole area is looking terribly smart. I can’t get over how cohesive you have made it in just a few short years. Is that blackberry lily (Iris domestica) in the back? Love the bold color

    • Hi Marian
      Im not sure what plant you are referring to when you say blackberry lily – I definitely dont have any of those. I dont know that plant but looking it up on line it seems to hav orange flowers so what I think you are looking at are Crocosmia which are a similar colour.

  3. Hi Helen – The willow was the first thing I noticed – lovely drooping green – but not too much. Lovely drappy look. Opposite end of the World here so having a VERY wet winter. Thunder storms and WET rain. Boggy, soggy, saturated everywhere. Too wet to cut the grass (can’t call it lawn) and slippery clay! Garden Group today too wet to view gardens so having lunch at Cherry’s a small cafe on the canal at Gulf Harbour so a nice outlook. Plenty of cover if yet another downpour. My cyclamen and primulas give springy look. Bulbs not quite flowering. Magnolias out everywhere. Our one and only is out – forgotten the name – dark pink – will remember as soon as I press Post!

  4. Hugh’s Border is beautiful as always, regardless of the sensibilities of the sensitive ferns. It’s really knit together by this time of year and there’s more to see the longer one looks at it.

    Can I get some kind of wooden-spoon prize for being even later than you with my own EOMV?

    https://nextsquaremetre.wordpress.com/2016/08/03/eomv-july-all-still-stalled/

    Nothing moving with the landscaping work, still: but we have some lovely flowers in pots, including some Standard Garden Centre Zonal Pelargoniums that I haven’t the heart to be sniffy about, as they continue to relentlessly fire off blooms in all directions.

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

