End of Month View – September 2016

img_6682-1

Seriously how is it October? I’m sure it’s only midway through September! But at least I have kinda remembered this month to do the End of Month View, albeit a day late.  I forgot all together last month – sorry.

Anyway, Hugh’s Border isn’t doing too bad considering the general neglect of the garden for some months now.  Things are getting back on an even keel and changes are afoot.  I’m always happier in the garden when I can relocate plants – poor plants.  Because my new neighbours have cleared the boundary line there is now a wealth of sunlight streaming in from the south which means the lighting in the garden has changed giving me new opportunities.

img_6685-1

The shady areas have significantly decreased which is good as it means I have more areas where I can plant more sun-loving plants and most plants that do well in shade don’t mind a bit more sun.  It does mean that the Big Border which was always sunny is now much more sunny and some plants have struggled this year as it is has been too dry for them.  The Big Border has good drainage so I am going to use it for my hardy Mediterranean and Southern Hemisphere plants and bulbs which are one of my plant weaknesses.  I am slowly but surely relocating the more traditional border inhabitants such as the peonies and roses from the Big Border into the surrounding borders where they should benefit from the improved light but with more moisture retentive soil. If you peer closely at the photo above you will see the rusty metal obelisk which was in the Big Border and hosts a rose and clematis.  They have all been moved to Hugh’s Border and had a good dollop of horse manure to get them going.  I like the vertical accent that the obelisk gives this area.

img_6686

To be quite honest the improved lighting has, I think, made my gardening life easier.  I have really struggled over the years to get good seasonal interest in the shady parts of the garden.  I love foliage but it gets a little dull being the same, more or less, all year.  So for example in Hugh’s Border I will be adding some peonies, some more Japanese Anemones, and probably some Pacific Coast irises, as well as more bulbs for Spring.

I’ve a lot of relocations to do over the coming weeks so I am hoping for some dry weekends as my gardening time is really minimal these days.   And then there is the tidying up and the bulb planting to get on top of ….it is nice to feel enthused again.

 

17 thoughts on “End of Month View – September 2016

  1. Most of the shade in our garden comes from our own plants, and the house, which at least makes me feel I’m in control of it to a degree. You’ve done well to get your garden as flowery as it is, as well as using the shade you’ve had to good effect. I love flowers, the brighter the better. I hope you don’t mind but I’ve pinched your idea of a garden tour for my end of month view https://gardenruminations.wordpress.com/

  2. Great to see your EOMV blog. The range of plants in your garden looks great. I think that sun is always preferred to shade. One area we have (called the woodland walk) is under big lime trees and there we have shade and dry which is really tricky but that’s gardening. Mainly some every green shrubs and ferns. We have tried planting a Pyracantha which I am told will survive but it is early days yet!
    My EOMV is https://glebehouse.wordpress.com/2016/09/30/end-of-the-month-view-september/
    and thanks for hosting it.

  3. I cannot believe how September has flown by, here in SW France we have finally had a little rain, the lawn which was brown and parched and quite crispy underfoot is coming back to life, it thinks it is spring and is growing like mad, everything is relishing in some water, only one day of rain, but enough to do a tiny bit of good! I love your borders, they are looking really good for this time of year

  4. Good to read that you are getting your gardening mojo back – and at least it has given you time to assess the changes brought about by your neighbours’ improvements. I too have been waiting for damper weather to do some shifting about – so you are ahead of me haveing already made a start. Meanwhile I am trying not to look at my big box of bulbs!! Thanks for hosting – my link is here:
    https://ramblinginthegarden.wordpress.com/2016/10/01/end-of-month-view-if-only/

  5. My comment seems to have disappeared. So sorry. I am looking forward to seeing how things turn out. It’s interesting to see what opportunities arise when there’s more light . All the best with your projects.

  6. Hi Helen from wet wet wet Whangaparoa – Auckland. We have had LOTS of spring rain and back to soggy clay again. Just when I thought drying out a bit and more friendly!! doesn’t stop the weeds tho’! Too wet to mow the grass – we have kaikuya a South African grass that stays green all year – frost tender. Long runners that are a pain! Can’t call it a lawn – just grass. Parts of the South Island heading for another drought. We had this continuing rumbling thunder this morning for about 2 hours and flooding in the Bays apparently!. My roof couldn’t handle it and overflowed. Not cold though. Kereru – native pigeon – large bird with blue /green feathers and beautiful white chests – is feeding on berries of the Dragon tree just 2 metres from my window. They are quite tame and gorgeous. The maories used to eat them but illegal now thank goodness. Although they do get killed up North – grrrrrrrrr. Big penalties if get caught. Hope your autumn is not too wet and cold. I noticed in my fbook that I had swam on 30th Sept 2 years ago – not this year!! Only in local Leisure Centre heated pool!

  7. Hugh’s border is looking fab. It will be interesting to see the changes now that you have more light in the garden.

    I’m struggling with my Shady Border, which has the same foliage issue you mention & is north-facing. I’m thinking Kirengeshoma palmata, though it does get quite big. Though maybe a statement would be a good idea?

Please feel free to leave comments as its always lovely to get feedback. I try to respond to comments as much as possible but sometimes life and work get in the way but I will do my best to respond especially if your comment is a question.

